1. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi everyone! I really need some assistance here as I plan to homebrew my old 3DS but still no luck at all :(
    Just to mention a few things here, the current old 3DS I have now was bought originally from Japan, and it came with version between 4.0.0 and 4.5.0 (can't remember the exact version) now it is running 2.1.0 after I did the ctrtransfer thing. I have already clearly followed every single step from https://3ds.guide/ until the part to install arm9loaderhax where it requires otp.bin before I could proceed any further. The thing is that I have already tried different sd cards, formatted the sd cards and tried everything multiple times already. If I'm not mistaken, the otp.bin file should have been created during the ctrtransfer according to the website but as I mentioned I tried to redo everything for a few times already but still couldn't extract the otp.bin at all. Then I got the error "otp.bin doesn't exist and can't be dumped". Is there anything I might have missed even though I already followed every single step? and I have tried to look for other guides from other websites/forums but it's risky as the methods or files used are rather different than 3ds.guide.
    Really need some helps from the expert here guys because I really have no idea what to do now, thank you very much!
     
  2. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    ... You need to do the above..
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks for the reply, however I have done that already and I couldn't proceed any further without otp.bin to full install and it said "otp.bin doesn't exist and can't be dumped".
     
  4. CrispyCola

    CrispyCola zero-two
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Use OTPHelper.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia

    Thanks for the reply Cola! I tried looking for the guide for using OTP helper however, the guide has been removed and the new site 3ds.guide doesn't show any instructions for using OTP helper at all :( Does OTP Helper help to create OTP.bin?
    I know this is kind of annoying for everyone, would anyone kindly please provide some guidance here? Thank you very much guys.
     
    Last edited by thomaszzz, Mar 28, 2017
  6. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    OTP.bin is not created during the CTR transfer. It's created when you install a9lh by following the instructions @proflayton123 screenshotted.
     
    HyperT and proflayton123 like this.
  7. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks for the reply Quantumcat! I tried it again just now however, the same issues still happened again as I mentioned in my original post, when I tried to go to the url http://2xrsa.3ds.guide for Full Install, it said "otp.bin doesn't exist and can't be dumped". Does it have anything to do with the arm11.bin file it loads from the browser?
     
  8. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    To you have the A9LH file thing downloaded with the stage1/2 payloads?
     
  9. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I do have the SafeA9LHInstaller, but what do you mean by 1/2 payloads? Although I have one in luma folder but not sure if that's the one you mean, sorry newbie to homebrew here :(
     
  10. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    Take a screenshot of your A9LH folder please
     
  11. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have the correct version of SafeArm9Installer?
    Edit: @proflayton123 means the data_input download. Although when that's a problem it usually says the payload is the wrong size.
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Mar 28, 2017
  12. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Sorry for the late reply guys I've been a bit busy with my assignment :(

    Hi proflayton here is the screenshot of the folder:


    Hi Quantumcat, ya I just downloaded everything through the link provided from the instruction so they all should be the latest version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by thomaszzz, Apr 1, 2017
  13. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
  14. orochi115

    orochi115 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Are you sure it's 2.1.0 now?
    And your SD card is not locked?
     
  15. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Germany
    Your a9lh folder is full of stuff you won't need. Please start section III again with clean folders. Step by step.
     
  16. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks for your reply einhuman197!
    I tried to redo all the steps from installing a9lh onward until I came across the step where I have to choose "<serialnumber>_nand.bin" in section IV. I remember when I tried doing it from weeks ago I got a file called "NANDmin.bin" (during the CTRTransfer preperation) instead of the serial number one, and if I'm not mistaken some changes might have been done to the website like SafeCTRTransfer? i could be wrong but I remember I didn't use this but something else. Since I can't go back to previous steps anymore (I tried doing the SafeCTRTransfer but I got discoloration so couldn't boot into SafeCTRTransfer after the new instructions made to the website), can I just proceed the steps and continue with "NANDmin.bin" rather than "<serialnumber>_nand.bin"? Again sorry for the inconvenience, thank you very much for everyone's help!
     
  17. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,937
    Country:
    Sweden
    Please follow the guide, it's updated. It's a lot better and easier now that uses more or less just 3 programs.
    Follow the guide, please just follow it.
     
  18. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Ya it's 2.1.0 now and I'm sure the card is not locked.

    Sorry I know this is irritating for everyone... Just one last thing here, because by the time I started homebrewing I followed the older guide, so I got "NANDmin.bin" instead of the new "<serialnumber>_nand.bin". I tried to follow the new guide but it brought me discolorations when launching SafeCTR, so I don't think I can create "<serialnumber>_nand.bin" anymore. So I just want to know if it is possible to continue everything to install arm9loaderhax with "NANDmin.bin" from the older guide? Really sorry for the troubles
     
  19. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8,937
    Country:
    Sweden
    I wouldn't recommend it. But sure, it should work.
     
  20. thomaszzz

    OP thomaszzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks linuxares, I took the risk and followed the steps and things went well, but when I reached Section VI - Installing CIAs, I cannot boot into FBI at all after injecting FBI from section V, and only get blackscreen... Any idea guys :(
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - create,