Can you help me re-design my PC

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Sop, Mar 28, 2011.

Mar 28, 2011

Can you help me re-design my PC by Sop at 9:13 AM (1,125 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Sop
    OP

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    So I was just about to order some stuff for the PC I was buying and I thought "it would take me forever to save up enough for the rest of the parts" so I need some advice from you. I just want one that can run casual games and maybe games like Dragon Age 2 and Farcry 3 (when it comes out) at medium setting with good fps.

    EDIT: Also budget is around $600 and I'm building myself.
     
  2. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I'd say the lowest you would need to go is a duel core with at least 3 gigs of ram and at least a 512mb graphics card. I am not sure what you already have and are you asking about specific parts or brands?
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes you should go for a good dualcore CPU. THat way you save some money you can then spend on a good graphics card.
    And just make it 4GB of RAM, no more, not less.
     
  4. Sop
    OP

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    It doesn't matter what I already have (embarrassed to post because it's a piece of crap) and specific parts.
     
  5. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    If you tell us what you already have It would help tremendously. There is no need to be embarrassed about computers in general or the one you have. I still own and use computers that are so old they could turn into dinosaurs and walk away from me. [​IMG]

    I have a notebook that's a 486 that was before the first single core processors... 16mb of ram and no sound card with dial up modem.
     
  6. Sop
    OP

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    All I know is that it's Pentium 4 2.8ghz 128mb of ram and gigabyte mobo. Also why does it matter what I have currently?
     
  7. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    It matters what you have currently because you may have been able to use some of It instead of upgrading everything in your current one plus It gives better direction in which way to go for the limit you have. Plus because you are building yourself that matters, If you just wanted to buy a good gaming laptop say for $600 I'd just give you brand names and models...
     
  8. Sop
    OP

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    No I want a tower..
     
  9. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Are you planning on keeping your current motherboard and/or do you know the max amount of ram the one you have can support?
     
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll post this again for the benefit of naming the specific parts you requested.

    PC Parts Buyers Guide:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    It's getting a lil out of date since there are plenty of B3-stepping LGA1155 motherboards out (B3 doesn't have the same problem that B2 motherboards did with the SATA II controller) but most major reviewing sites haven't finished their roundup yet to know which are best.
     
  11. Sop
    OP

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    No I wanted to buy a FULL new PC but I didn't have enough money for that build so I want to know a cheaper build not upgrade my existing PC.
     
  12. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    hey you can just upgrade the followings:-

    processor-- intel core 2 quad Q8200 2.33GHz
    AMD Processor - Phenom II X3 720
    ram-at least 4gb
    graphics card-Nvidia Graphics Card - GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB
    ATI Graphics Card - Radeon HD 3800 series
    smps(psu)-minimum 450watt(i refer cooler master)
    motherboard-amd-asus crosshair
    intel- p35 if you only need one gpu
     
  13. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wait. Wut? What are you talking about? Those are all old components. Anyone reading this thread should ignore that post in my opinion...
     
  14. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Where do you plan to buy it? From a webshop or an offline store? It might be handy if you provide a site with PC components prices as not everybody knows which Australian sites are good to use as reference for the prices there [​IMG].
     
  15. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Why does everyone make a new thread instead of looking at the hundreds of existing identical threads?

    YOU ARE NOT THE FIRST PERSON IN THE WORLD TO ASK THIS QUESTION.
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He's actually made at least one nearly identical thread before. The answers are usually very similar, with only a couple changes as newer technology comes out.

    The question is, why doesn't he just find back his old thread and bump it?
     
  17. ninchya

    Member ninchya GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    ASIA!!!!!
    Country:
    United States
    Amd Phenom II X4 3.00 ghz
    Asus Motherboard ddr 3 ram 4.0 gbs

    Graphic card will depend on how much you want to spend. My current Geforce 9600 gt can play dragon age 2 on high. I would sugguess a SSD hdd if you have leftover money.

    Currently AMD Phemon 2 X4 3.0 plus motherboard, ram, would cost atleast 400 or 500
     
  18. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    cause it's getting ridiculous .

    with $600 ,
    CPU - Phenom II x2 / Athlon II x4
    RAM - 4GBs
    GPU - spend at least $150 on this .
    PSU - 600w
     
  19. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    just ask yourself what you need because you have a lot of variety in choosing all the stuffs
     

Share This Page