Emulation Can this new R4i gold card play gba games?

Bryon15

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just ordered this:

http://www.r4ibuy.com/products/NEW-R4i-Gol...7%7DDSi-XL.html

In the list of features it says - No need to flash. Built-in launch Slot-2 (gba) function. But I'm not sure what this means. I'm new to the whole flashcard thing. Can it play gba games or did I just waste my money? Should I have gotten a supercard dstwo instead? Can someone help me out?

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
My understanding of ....
QUOTE said:
Built-in launch Slot-2 (gba) function
(Here's a screenshot of a R4 theme to use as an example)
1logo.jpg

2icons.jpg

Notice on the bottom screen the 3 icons 'Games','Media' and 'Slot-2'

By selecting 'Games' - you are able to run any games you have stored on the R4 card
By selecting 'Media' - this will start up another program (Usually 'Moonshell') that will allow you to play music, movies or view pictures
By selecting 'Slot-2' - your R4 card will start up whatever card is inserted into the Slot-2 (I assume you have either a DSLite or DSPhat) whether it's another flashcard (holding GBA ROMS) OR a GBA commercial game

IF you have a DSi/DSi XL - then this 3rd icon is totally useless - the only way you can play GBA games on one of those consoles is with the DSTwo card

Bryon15

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Okay thanks. Now I have question about the supercard dstwo. Will it be able to run emulators besides gba and snes? Kinda like how the R4 can run nes, genesis and gamegear emulators. Can the supercard dstwo also do that?

Also what kind of slot 2 flashcard do I need to run gba roms on my ds lite?

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country