Can this new R4i gold card play gba games?

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by Bryon15, Aug 9, 2010.

Aug 9, 2010
  1. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    I just ordered this:

    http://www.r4ibuy.com/products/NEW-R4i-Gol...7%7DDSi-XL.html

    In the list of features it says - No need to flash. Built-in launch Slot-2 (gba) function. But I'm not sure what this means. I'm new to the whole flashcard thing. Can it play gba games or did I just waste my money? Should I have gotten a supercard dstwo instead? Can someone help me out?
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My understanding of ....
    (Here's a screenshot of a R4 theme to use as an example)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Notice on the bottom screen the 3 icons 'Games','Media' and 'Slot-2'

    By selecting 'Games' - you are able to run any games you have stored on the R4 card
    By selecting 'Media' - this will start up another program (Usually 'Moonshell') that will allow you to play music, movies or view pictures
    By selecting 'Slot-2' - your R4 card will start up whatever card is inserted into the Slot-2 (I assume you have either a DSLite or DSPhat) whether it's another flashcard (holding GBA ROMS) OR a GBA commercial game

    IF you have a DSi/DSi XL - then this 3rd icon is totally useless - the only way you can play GBA games on one of those consoles is with the DSTwo card
     
  3. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thanks. Now I have question about the supercard dstwo. Will it be able to run emulators besides gba and snes? Kinda like how the R4 can run nes, genesis and gamegear emulators. Can the supercard dstwo also do that?

    Also what kind of slot 2 flashcard do I need to run gba roms on my ds lite?
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Technically the answer is 'Most will work' BUT..... (there's always a but..') the current emulators available will NOT use the DSTwo extra Ram/CPU, just the usual DS Ram/CPU (unlike DSTwo GBA Emulator which DOES use the extra memory/CPU), so you will still have the same problems with the emulators that other flashcards have
    (Hopefully this will change once the DSTwo 'Software Development Kit' is released)

    If you look @ the DSTwo Plugin list - you'll see a lot of emulators in the list - & on the end of each entry you'll see [DSL/DSi]

    If the text is Black - it hasn't been tested yet
    If it is in Blue - It's been tested on that system & works
    It it is in Red - It's been tested on that system but DIDN'T work
    (note however that most of the red 'DSi' were tested on an older Supercard firmware - I should know as I did most of them, but not got round to retrying yet - & may now work on the newer firmware since the Homebrew compatibility has greatly improved since then )

    Incidentally - 'DSL' means DSlite or DSPhat systems, 'DSi' means DSi or DSi XL systems

    One thing to note though, Do not use 'NesDS' on a 'DSiXL'
    There has been reports that using this emulator on a DSiXL can damage your screen(s) display -
    Exactly HOW it does it no-one really knows, but it's been suggested it could have something to do with NesDS screen refresh rates & how the DSiXL has a 'fixed rate'

    Sorry for the long post - but I hope it helps

    EDIT: oopss sorry read the bit about the Slot-2 question.... IIRC I think the 3-in-1 is a good bet (I've never had a slot-2 so can't recommend any), but I suggest you search GBATemp to see if there's any better suggestions
     
  5. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much. Now I wish I had gotten the supercard dstwo instead. I should have done more research before rushing to buy that R4i gold card.
     
  6. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...or an EX4DS.
     
  7. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys can someone tell me a store that sells the supercard dstwo that ships from the united states? The pre-paid credit card that I have won't let me order things from countries besides the united states.
     
  8. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Right here. Free shipping too!
     
  9. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    That website says it ships from hong kong. My credit card didn't work.
     
  10. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Try this.
     
  11. dan80315

    Member dan80315 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Another fine alternative if you can't purcahse a DSTWO is purchasing an AK2i or AK2.1. They're both really cheap too (around 11-15$ US).

    I can't ever understand why someone would purchase an R4... EVER. The original official team is not around anymore than the R4i is just a clone cart made by people who just want a quick buck.

    AK2i, DSTWO, CycloDS and M3iZero are by far the best ones at the moment.
     
  12. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    He wants DSTWO for GBA.
     
  13. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    It worked! Thank you [​IMG]
     
  14. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Anytime [​IMG]
     
  15. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys can anyone confirm if the nds game jump ultimate stars works on the supercard dstwo? I tried it on my R4i gold card and it doesn't work. I just get a white screen.

    EDIT: nevermind. I got it working [​IMG] I used the manual method I found here:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=79126
     

Share This Page