Can I downgrade a Phat with 3.11?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Jaxtaylor, May 1, 2008.

May 1, 2008
  1. Jaxtaylor
    OP

    Newcomer Jaxtaylor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey all

    Quick question, is it possible to downgrade a phat with 3.11? I've been trawling google, and there are so many old and outdated posts, i'm not entirely sure what i'm reading!

    I've managed to do it to my slim, which was fine, but seeing as this one is a mate's psp, i'm being a little more careful!!

    Thanks.
     
  2. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yes you can allways downgrade or upgrade with a pendora battery.
     
  3. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    The only way is with a Pandora I'm pretty sure.
     
  4. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you want to downgrade not upgrade?
     
  5. Taziz

    Member Taziz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Country:
    Lithuania
    since he wants a custom FW and to get a custom FW you need to downgrade to 1.5 and then upgrade
     
  6. Jaxtaylor
    OP

    Newcomer Jaxtaylor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all - I just needed confirmation...now...can anyone direct me to a decent guide pretty please? [​IMG]
     
  7. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you dont.
     
  8. Taziz

    Member Taziz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Country:
    Lithuania
    yes you do!!!
     
  9. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    If you use Pandora Battery solution, you don't.

    I know you can go straight to at least 3.80 M33. I've done it one more than one occasion.
     
  10. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have Lumines:

    Just update to 3.50 then use the Lumines exploit [​IMG]

    Search Google for more info [​IMG]
     
  11. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Tutorial using pandora's battery.
     
  12. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd imagine that it's probably safer to go straight to the latest firmware since less flashing is involved but how do you do it? Last time I used Pandora it had to go to a subset of fw150 because you have to put the 150 eboot on the magic memory stick.
     
  13. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the point of a Pandoras battery if you'll dont mind answering a Nintendo Nuts query? I mean, whats the point of it? To provide power to the unit during the process?
     
  14. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No ... it allows access to previously inaccessible 'parts' of the PSP (simplest explanation)
     
  15. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...so its not actually a simple high-powered battery but a...what?

    Its like a flashcard and battery combined...

    I'm gonna go look this up.
     
  16. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    It allows you to boot into "Service mode" Which allows cool things like flashing directly to the PSP's NAND (The flash memmory which contain the firmware)
     
  17. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    I think it all went down like this: -People sent bricked PSPs for Sony to repair
    -homebrew developers wonder how this was done
    -someone leaked that Sony has a special battery that allows them to flash the PSP even when they are bricked
    -group of developers band together to figure it out
    -someones PSP gets accidentally sent back with a "special battery" after getting fixed from Sony (I believe that someone actually put up the battery on ebay)
    -group of developers eventually figure how to recreate the battery and dub it "Pandora", release it to the public. One downgrade to rule them all.
     
  18. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    That should be a book. It's epic. [​IMG]
     
  19. soliunasm

    Member soliunasm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    If you have Lumines(The first one. It also has to be from around....15 months ago or so.) you can downgrade from 3.50.
    If you have Grand Theft Auto - Vice City Stories(Or Liberty. Not sure on the exact one...) you can downgrade from 3.21(Don't quote me on this one. It's in the 2x IIRC)
     

Share This Page