Buying a PS3 on 3.41 or lower

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by elmoreas, Oct 6, 2010.

Oct 6, 2010

Buying a PS3 on 3.41 or lower by elmoreas at 7:37 PM (1,088 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. elmoreas
    OP

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    I went to BB and all they had left were the old 250's which I cannot afford ATM, the New 320's w/move stuff, and moderate aged 160's w/move ads on them. I know the moves will be 3.42+ so they are a no go, and the 250's are too much, but my question is what about the 160? I was wanting a 120 to be safe. But they are all gone. Does anyone know if 160's w/move ads (ads only) are
     
  2. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the moves were produced and shipped out at
     
  3. No Name Trowa Barton

    Member No Name Trowa Barton Namaiki iun-ja naiyoâ„¢

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    the whole world is in my hands.
    Country:
    United States
    ill actually be wanting to buy a japanese ps3 here soon i dont care if its higher then 3.41 as the PSN is really amazing.
     
  4. elmoreas
    OP

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have wifi, and the TV is over 3 rooms away so PSN isn't an option.

    Edit: P.S. I dont want it for bkup mgr I want it for HB stuff so I can install cfw and get back other o/s ie Linux
     
  5. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    What I did was bought a PS3 and replaced the harddrive with this one(so paying $70+ for a PS3 with only a bigger harddrive is not worth it at all) :

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136314

    Which is apparently $10 off (almost like free shipping). The harddrive is working excellent! One time booting up with PSgroove 1.1 the playstation was acting sluggish, but I highly doubt it was the harddrive causing the problem. I think my TI calculator failed to finish PSgroove (there was an update to the TI exploit a couple days ago and is easy to add hermes v3 and the official groove 1.1 payloads so this problem may not happen again)

    *Also, if you were to buy a PS3 at a retail store, you can return it if it has >3.41 and try a different store which may not have new stock of PS3's.

    Edit:

    You wouldn't necessarily need a bigger harddrive for back up manager. I have ran into 4 games that install around 4.5 GB worth of information the PS3 harddrive for initial set-up. While this data can easily be deleted, it would require re-installation of data to play the game again. That option is always available [​IMG]
     
  6. fogbank

    Member fogbank GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. Edster

    Member Edster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page