Hacking Buying 3DS: Which Flashcard to play games?

Chiqx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
119
Country
Gambia, The
Hey guys. Im totally new in this scene(well not totally, i had a ds lite 5 years ago and had a R4 to play games with). Basically now I'd like to buy a 3DS and a flash card for it so i can download 3ds roms and copy them to the card and play the games. Is this even possible for the 3ds? Also, i live in germany. Is such a card available there?

Thanks! :)
 

Chiqx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
119
Country
Gambia, The
Oh wow, thank you! I dont need a flash card? But why are there flash cards then?
Is there a specific nintendo 3ds version i need? Or can I just buy any 3ds console i want?
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,597
Country
United States
Oh wow, thank you! I dont need a flash card? But why are there flash cards then?
Is there a specific nintendo 3ds version i need? Or can I just buy any 3ds console i want?
The flashcards are there to play DS ROMs.

You want a console with a firmware version of 10.7 or lower so that you can properly do the guide that the others mentioned.
 

Temarile

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,132
Trophies
0
XP
541
Country
Netherlands
Oh wow, thank you! I dont need a flash card? But why are there flash cards then?
Is there a specific nintendo 3ds version i need? Or can I just buy any 3ds console i want?

There are flashcards for the easy way. Gateway was the first to allow us to play Roms (and even though people here won't admit it, gateway helped us get where we are now) and the sky3ds is for the people who are either lazy/scared or on a non exploitable firmware.
You van buy any 3ds you'd like, almost every 3ds comes with exploitable firmware. If I recall correctly, only the monster hunter generation special 3ds came with 11.0 out of the box. Secondhand 3dses also have a chance of being updated but new from the store? Almost garentueed exploitable ;)
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
479
Country
United States
ntr cheats are pure shit. you cant even make your own plugins. plus its way less stable. hardware is just more powerful than software
Gateway cheats are being ported to NTR. You can make your own plugins. I don't see how it's less stable, unless you're shit at coding. And I agree that hardware is more powerful than software, but software is also cheaper in this case...
 

Hayleia

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
1,485
Trophies
0
XP
1,294
Country
France
Oh wow, thank you! I dont need a flash card? But why are there flash cards then?
And why are there screens without colors on old calculators? Because that was before color screens were created ;)

They're a waste of money as you can use NTR for cheats now.
To me, comparing NTR cheats to Gateway cheats is like comparing wine/mono to a cross-platform program, but whatever :P
There's still something that Gateway can be useful for: .3ds is a lot more convenient to test romhacks than .cia (but I don't do romhacks, so that's why I agree that I wouldn't get a Gateway now if I didn't have one already).
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
479
Country
United States
And why are there screens without colors on old calculators? Because that was before color screens were created ;)


To me, comparing NTR cheats to Gateway cheats is like comparing wine/mono to a cross-platform program, but whatever :P
There's still something that Gateway can be useful for: .3ds is a lot more convenient to test romhacks than .cia (but I don't do romhacks, so that's why I agree that I wouldn't get a Gateway now if I didn't have one already).
But you can test romhacks with NTR.
 

Hayleia

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
1,485
Trophies
0
XP
1,294
Country
France
But you can test romhacks with NTR.
Yeah, not sure what's more convenient (since, as I said, I've never done romhacks). Either using the .3ds format (which means at least getting the red cart out and stuff) or using NTR (which means booting that CFW by hand) sounds annoying to me, you'll have to argue with someone who does romhacks :P
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
479
Country
United States
Yeah, not sure what's more convenient (since, as I said, I've never done romhacks). Either using the .3ds format (which means at least getting the red cart out and stuff) or using NTR (which means booting that CFW by hand) sounds annoying to me, you'll have to argue with someone who does romhacks :P
You still have to repack the .3ds but with NTR you don't need to. There's also HANS and SaltySD.
 

N7Kopper

Lest we forget... what Nazi stood for.
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
975
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,293
Country
United Kingdom
Gateway cheats are being ported to NTR. You can make your own plugins. I don't see how it's less stable, unless you're shit at coding. And I agree that hardware is more powerful than software, but software is also cheaper in this case...
And it plays nice with stable community installations of hax and custom firmwares. I wouldn't even consider it a custom firmware in it's own right anymore, as it boots after things like Luma and Corbenik like a normal program - the difference is it runs in the background is all. And if our lovely madam here buys a New 3DS, she can even do video streaming with NTR.
Sure, Gateway were pioneers, and invented some stuff before hiding it behind encryption and things - but nowadays they just do inferior, more dangerous versions of community software and firmware.

And maybe it's a personal hangup, but I don't trust people who try to sell you software that they designed solely for pirating stuff. And then lock it behind bricking code. "bu-but nintendo did brickcode for regionchanged korean wiis i" Yeah, and that's why I run my own custom frankenfirmware setup on my old Wii!

And if you do that pirating stuff, it's easier to use community custom firmware such as the ever-popular and trusty Luma3DS to install Citra Installable Archive (CIA :P) files then it is to mess around with ROM files, and private headers, and needing two SD Cards... (Unless you also have a DS flashcart, in which case you can replace that with "needing to switch cartridges and do complicated patching stuff to play DS games. And maybe needing three SD Cards"

But you can test romhacks with NTR.
Not just "test" - NTR is the most convenient way of running them, and switching them off on the fly.

Yeah, not sure what's more convenient (since, as I said, I've never done romhacks). Either using the .3ds format (which means at least getting the red cart out and stuff) or using NTR (which means booting that CFW by hand) sounds annoying to me, you'll have to argue with someone who does romhacks :P
Booting NTR by hand requires activating one title. It's admittedly more annoying to do video streaming, as there's no doing that with the N3DS CPU hacks enabled. But that's a feature that Brickway doesn't even have.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Roomsaver

Logan Pockrus

Knawledge is key.
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,338
Trophies
0
XP
1,062
Country
United States
Yeah, not sure what's more convenient (since, as I said, I've never done romhacks). Either using the .3ds format (which means at least getting the red cart out and stuff) or using NTR (which means booting that CFW by hand) sounds annoying to me, you'll have to argue with someone who does romhacks :P
Testing romhacks with NTR is exceptionally more convenient, as there is no need to rebuild the ROM entirely and then drop it on a flash cart every time you make even the smallest change.

EDIT: Ninja'd. :ninja:
 

Hayleia

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
1,485
Trophies
0
XP
1,294
Country
France
@Logan Pockrus @Roomsaver
Is rebuilding the rom that much of a problem? I mean, do romhackers not have scripts to do that? Or is the problem that it takes time?

Booting NTR by hand requires activating one title. It's admittedly more annoying to do video streaming, as there's no doing that with the N3DS CPU hacks enabled. But that's a feature that Brickway doesn't even have.
I never said Gateway had all features at all (otherwise I wouldn't have Luma as my main on my 3 systems, installed with a9lh from a period when Gateway didn't support a9lh at all). I just wanted to balance the "waste of money" sentence. Which is true for most people but not necessarily an absolute truth.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, :rofl2: Just thinking out loud.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If you touch fire it burns
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, If you put a toaster in a bathtub, you get lightning.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    ah well, i'd choose electricity, because to quote the taser from payday 2: "I'm the fucking spark man!"
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    also, instantly charging devices could work
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd choose being the flash bone a chick in every city
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Screw you greyhound
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Committing the most crimes in Florida?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Both could be useful, just have to be imaginative
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    yeah
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like creating a tsunami for cheap ocean front land and getting rich lol
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    you could manipulate the atoms of the cactus liquid to be drinkable, or load it with electrolytes, either way, it works (i think)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Being the flash I'd imagine you could make tornados and hurricanes
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I flash all the time
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i'd say those are wind storms, so that'd come with the territory of wind
    manipulation
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Your record isn't as bad as ancientboi over that
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Lmao
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yeah those nursing home ladies either can't see or don't complain
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Gnome live is such a bipolar bitch
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Isn't GNOME the Linux GUI?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Its fine but I hate it.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    can i ask something awkward?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Sure. :P
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: Sure. :P