Hardware Busted sd slot.

Sahduk

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
UK
XP
407
Country
United States
I inserted an sd card which got stuck into my wii, then jammed. I had to use tweasers to take it out. After that I reinserted the sd card I was using before and it wouldnt be recognised in my wii.

How the hell do I repair it? I opened up my wii to take a further look at the problem and it looks fine. The pins are all in the right place I think.

Is there a guide or something for my problem? Or some were safe and trustworthy I can send my wii off too? MY warranty has expired, and I do have a softmodded wii.

I also forgot to mention that everytime I insert the sd card I get the message device cannot be used at the data transfer section.

m thinking of sending it to nintendo. But im not sure if that would be a good idea. Also how much would they charge to repair? Iv already opened up my wii, and I lost a few screws and my warranty has expired.

frown.gif
frown.gif
frown.gif
 

Crass

Rock me Dr. Zaius
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
1,011
Trophies
1
Location
Oregon
Website
www.ds-scene.net
XP
707
Country
United States
Wow how do you jam an SD card? Are you like a neanderthal? And whats the deal with taking apart the Wii and losing the screws, that is really brilliant. Quite acting like a tard and abusing your Wii and it will last.
 

padooo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
80
Trophies
1
XP
424
Country
United States
Man, listen to Xflak, this guy knows on what he is talking about.

Also don't feed the troll (Crass)
 

Sahduk

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
UK
XP
407
Country
United States
Gabelvampir said:
Have you tried another SD card? Maybe your card broke when it jammed.

Yes Iv tried about 4. They all work fine on my laptop but wont work on my wii.

QUOTE(XFlak @ Nov 8 2010, 04:55 PM) you can send your Wii to [email protected] if you like. He's very good at what he does, if anyone can fix it, he can.

How much does he charge? And how trustworthy is this guy? Does he have a website or something?

Oh and my sd slot was damaged because I inserted an sd card from a friends wii into my wii, for some reason his sd card is slightly larger and wouldnt fit into my wii.
 

Crass

Rock me Dr. Zaius
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
1,011
Trophies
1
Location
Oregon
Website
www.ds-scene.net
XP
707
Country
United States
Sahduk said:
Oh and my sd slot was damaged because I inserted an sd card from a friends wii into my wii, for some reason his sd card is slightly larger and wouldnt fit into my wii.

SD cards should all be the same form factor, so you were probably trying to insert an entirely diffrent type of memory card. Once you realized it wouldn't fit, you just kept cramming it in there anyway? Why?
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,693
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
9,608
Country
Cyprus
Sahduk said:
XFlak said:
you can send your Wii to [email protected] if you like. He's very good at what he does, if anyone can fix it, he can.
How much does he charge? And how trustworthy is this guy? Does he have a website or something?
Well, DeadlyFoez usually provides infectus brick repairs, not SD card slot repairs (but I am sure he is capable of fixing it... he even added an sd card activity light to his wii, which looks awesome). I think he charges $40 for his infectus services. So if I had to guess he would probably charge you around the same price, but the only way to know for sure is by emailing him.

Foez doesn't have a website, but he has taken apart and fixed over 100 wii's. I personally watched him take apart a Wii, including removing the nand chip using a hot air station, in under 5 minutes! I mean, seriously, just watching him work was an amazing experience for me (since I am a software kind of guy, watching his hardware skills in action was really incredible). Anyways, my point is, I trust Foez with my life (which says alot considering that 1 month ago I didn't even know what he looked like
biggrin.gif
), and he would never rip you off, and for what it's worth, I personally vouch for his skills. I'm sure if u go digging hard enough u will find others who have sent their Wii's to him, and all of them have been happy with his services.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i just prefer wired connections, more stability in general. i do ftp to my ps2 and og xbox and sometimes my 14tbof network storage for archival purposes
    .
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ye I use to have set ups like those but now I just fell less wires the better
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    when i say network storage i mean locally over openmediavault.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    one day i will set up the hp dl380 g7 i got for $50. when i have an appropriate closet to blockout the wind turbines it houses for fans.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it's got like 48gb of ddr3 in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I almost got enough spare parts to do a secondary pc build with a 7950 windforce wonder what it benches out to these days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    3gb gddr5 lol
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i had a 960 2gb in the server for a min as a gaming pc probably
    a bottle neck with two xeon x5680's , it wasn't terrible not the best experience but nothing amazing fits in u2 rack mount server anyway.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it was the loudest gaming experience for sure tho.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    also probably had the power bill higher than my 5800x3d and 6950xt do.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/7kXeIp4yMNE?si=NHTWb48w3AdJ-ifa