Burning wii backups to DVD+R???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 1019wii, Nov 13, 2008.

Nov 13, 2008

Burning wii backups to DVD+R??? by 1019wii at 4:42 AM (14,795 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. 1019wii
    OP

    Newcomer 1019wii Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    How do you do this?
    Does anyone have a link to the guide?
    I have backup loader 0.3 so thats not a problem.
    just need to know how to burn them to DVD+Rs..
     
  2. toastert2003

    Member toastert2003 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    you have to change the booktype to dvd-rom....


    from what i have read, you need to do this with imgburn

    alternative solution, use dvd-r

    with my personally owned rips i use nero + dvd-r and it works flawlessly when i burn at 4x speed, never had a problem, hope this helps.
     
  3. cdn_bacon

    Newcomer cdn_bacon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    Why did you post the same question twice in 2 mins???
     
  4. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    He's disturbingly impatient or he might have hit the button twice.
     
  5. NeoNight

    Member NeoNight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    This is how you get them to work.
    First you take the DVD+r's and place them in their casing. Then you place the cases back into the dvd+r box. If you bought a 50 pack you just take the disk and place them back into rack. You then purchase dvd-r's (verbatim if you can) and use those.
     
  6. mexiken

    Newcomer mexiken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    DVD+R's work fine with imgburn. I used HP ones and they all work great.

    You don't need to change anything under imgburn. Just pop it in, select the iso, and burn.

    Done and done.
     
  7. mexiken

    Newcomer mexiken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wait, I should mention, I have a Wiikey, so it supports it. Wouldn't know about using on Backup Loader....
     
  8. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    exactly. ive never had to change the booktype. both on drives that imgburn did and did not support changing the booktype on.
    with the gc/wii ive noticed that media quality means more than anything, and even then, as long as you dont get the cheapest thing on the shelf, you should be fine.
    same deal with the burn speed. i burn 24x on dvd+r, no booktype changes, on sony media, and I havent had one bad burn yet.
     
  9. batmanfr

    Newcomer batmanfr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    France
    Hi, I used DVD+R with backup launcher on a non-modded wii. You have to change the booktype to DVD-ROM but it is fine.

    For know how to write in DVD-ROM, check your burn software [​IMG]
     
  10. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    bottom line is , and still wonder why people love DVD+R ???

    success is :

    DVD-R + x4 speed + Verbatim media + any software supports burning image ISO = successful read disc , vole


    if it is too hard , pm me and I'll send you a step by step tutorial via pm [​IMG]
     
  11. mexiken

    Newcomer mexiken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Well actually, I tried using Nero and a couple other iso burning apps, and they wouldn't recognize Wii ISO's, only imgburn would.
     
  12. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    I used roxio and nero and clonecd and image burn and powerISO they all work fine , if your software is not a reading ISO by default just go to settings or options and check the ISO box on, or right click the iso and go to open with and choose your software and it also should work , and all of the mentioned software has an option to burn image disc or image file or even says burn ISO at some of it like roxio .
     
  13. mexiken

    Newcomer mexiken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Oh the software would burn other ISO's just fine, just not Wii one's. Some wouldn't recognize it, would freeze, would give me an error, etc. However, this was nearly 2 years ago, I'm sure they've updated the software. Since imgburn worked then and still does now, its all I ever use for Wii games now, and pretty much everything too.
     
  14. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    MIght have just been an old version or the booktype not being set on it ?
    Nero seems to work fine for most.

    Ive only seen 1 person have an issue with DVD-R and the tried a +R disc and it worked fine for him , strangly
     
  15. mexiken

    Newcomer mexiken Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe. I never played around with it. When I used to fire up Nero, I told it I wanted to make a DVD ROM, and it just wouldn't take Wii ISO's, took other ISO's just fine, all others in fact, save for Wii ones. So I tried imgburn, and it worked. Kinda just used it from then on.
     
  16. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep, in my case too, all i need to do is burn them with imgburn, no configuration whatsoever (Verbatim's)
     
  17. Geek72790

    Newcomer Geek72790 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I used DVD+Rs with no problem either. I used IMGburn with Fujifilm DVD+Rs.

    I only used Fujifilm because a friend of mine just had them laying around so I took a couple.
     
  18. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    FOR IMG BURN >>>>>DO THIS
    double click the iso you wanna use
    then click tools in the drop down box go to drive
    then click change book type
    pick your burner
    under change for click dvd +r if thats what your using
    under new setting chose dvd-rom
     
  19. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simply insert DVD into DVD burner...

    Burn ISO using imgburn (no need to do anything special)

    Have happy fun time.
     

Share This Page