Building a new PC

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by sjones900, Jul 28, 2012.

Jul 28, 2012

Building a new PC by sjones900 at 8:14 PM (1,318 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been putting together parts for a new PC for awhile now and since I don't have the money for an i7 I decided to get what I could to get my computer going.

    My PC Specs are as follows:

    Motherboard: MSI P67-G43
    CPU: Intel Celeron G530 LGA1155
    RAM: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1133Mhz
    Graphics: MSI GTX 550 Ti 1GB
    HDD: Western Digital 2TB Sata HDD
    PSU: Cooler Master 600W

    Not entirely sure what could be wrong. The computer boots up and the fans spin and all light come on, but I don't get any sort of display on my monitor. All other peripherals do not work either.

    If anyone can give me some insight as to what could possibly be wrong, I would greatly appreciate it.
     


  2. DragorianSword

    Member DragorianSword GBAtemp's #1 Gunter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Belgium
    Is everything connected right?
    Because if you get no graphics it could be you graphics card which isn't connected right with either your motherboard or your screen.
    So your mouse, printer, etc don't work either? Are they all USB, because maybe there's a problem there too.
     
  3. Alato

    Member Alato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Canada
    Usually when I have that issue, it's just because I forgot to plug in a power cable to the video card. If that doesn't work, try taking out the video card and plugging your monitor in straight to your motherboard, so you can see if it's the video card that's the problem
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try connecting to the motherboard display port. If everything is working, that should at least get you as far as the EFI. Or if you are using the motherboard graphics port, connect to the graphics card display port!
     
  5. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    The IGP might have been, by default, enabled by the motherboard. Use one of the display ports that the motherboard supplies. Go into the BIOS, and then disable integrated graphics. You should now be able to use your GPU.
     
  6. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    The power is connected to to the graphics card and it is in properly inserted because the fan spins on it just fine. Anything that is USB such as a keyboard doesn't power up.


     
  7. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
     
  8. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    How many beeps do you get when powering on? Also, is there a debug LED?
     
  10. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately the motherboard nor did the case come with a speaker. I'll go and buy one soon to better diagnose the problem. The motherboard does not have a debug LED.
     
  11. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah do that. When booting up, before the BIOS, computers do a power on self test, or POST. The post is then followed by beeps, the number of beeps tell you if anything is wrong. One beep means you're good to go, and more beeps mean there's a problem. Keep your motherboard's manual because it should have all of the beep codes in the back.
     
  12. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    I'm thinking that it might be the ram. I chose a low level CPU with my previously picked ram for an i7. The frequency might be too high to work with that CPU. Does this seem plausible?
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The fact that there's no power to USB devices means the south bridge isn't getting power. This points to the motherboard or the PSU. Check that the 8-pin CPU power cable is plugged in properly with the CPU (or 12V ATX) cable and not the PCIe cable.

    EDIT: DDR3 RAM frequency under 2000Mhz never causes compatibility issues. Anyway, 1333Mhz is all Sandy Bridge can actually use.
     
  14. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    The speaker you want is a four pin internal speaker, btw.
     
  15. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
  16. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Well I've determined it's not the graphics card. I borrowed one out of my friends PC, no change. I checked all the the connections and everything is setup properly. I can't say for sure what it is exactly yet. I won't know till I get that speaker.
     
  17. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,534
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    the board isnt grounding out is it ? the mobo is sitting on top of the pegs and not touching the case directly ?
     
  18. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    The case has built in stand offs. So I don't think it is.
     
  19. sjones900
    OP

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Also after I hold the power button to shut it down, a few seconds later it turns back on without me pressing the power button.
     
  20. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Double check the front panel IO connectors that you've not crossed PSW with something else.
     

Share This Page