Hacking Bricked???

corolla0305

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
548
Country
hi all I'm in a pickle
Had a friends chipped wii who wanted it soft modded for USB loading
He was on firmware 3.4e
I got HBC installed and tried to do arc offline downgrade which came with a mismatch error
Then I tried the system 290.wad install and then rebooted wii
Now all I get is a green light on the wii but the screen stays blank.....
Is this bricked??
Any resolution???
No there is no preloader as that was the next step!!
Please someone I need to know if I have to buy him a new one......
 

Bladexdsl

My posts...it's over 9000!!!
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
19,713
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland
XP
8,993
Country
Australia
this is what i dont understand people trying to softmod a chipped wii. if you have a chip you dont need tp, dont need loaders all you need is the hbc disc setup install the hbc than you can do anything.
 

corolla0305

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
548
Country
yeah he tried an auto boot disc and nothing worked...... he got this wii off the net premodded and didnt know what chip was in it just that it came with a folder of games.......
i have soft modded 15 wii's and never had a problem
the thing is the green light goes on
the wii still makes noises loading and stuff and if a disc is in it spins....
any possibility the problem is a wifi module or just bricked???
 

steve-p

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
503
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
yea, get the recovery-boot.
boot a region-patched copy of the pink bakup disk - see if it will install ios16

if it does, there is a bootable disk on here with wad-manager on it.
take that, try to inject wad-manager with selectable ios into it - then boot it.

if your very lucky it will run.
then stuff ios50 & sysmenu 3.4E on it and hope it works!

this is all theory btw, but right now it's all you have!
 

Bloodlust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2006
Messages
1,122
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
609
Country
Hong Kong
ARC offline worked for me when I was used it to help a friend downgrade his partially updated 4.0J back to 3.2J, luckily.

Since the set was originally was 3.4, I would downgrade it to 3.2 first before attempting any softmods (if it was a pure virgin set with no modchip)

Never try to install softmod like cioscorp etc on a chipped set as it screws up the direct disc channel reading capability of the modchip.
 

Bladexdsl

My posts...it's over 9000!!!
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
19,713
Trophies
1
Location
Queensland
XP
8,993
Country
Australia
swf3 said:
arc softmii kils wiis!
go on ebay buy a wii £60

except he lives in Australia
tongue.gif
 

TheNewMouse

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Location
The Other Place
XP
1
Country
why didnt you just install cios rev10 and leave it alone??

there was no need to go down to 3.2 dude.



ps. Wiisel i totally agree gba needs a softmod section, most other forums have a softmod only section not naming names but ya'l know where i mean.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Swagboi308 @ Swagboi308: :wacko: