Bricked???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by corolla0305, Apr 19, 2009.

Apr 19, 2009

Bricked??? by corolla0305 at 6:14 AM (1,843 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. corolla0305
    OP

    Newcomer corolla0305 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Australia
    hi all I'm in a pickle
    Had a friends chipped wii who wanted it soft modded for USB loading
    He was on firmware 3.4e
    I got HBC installed and tried to do arc offline downgrade which came with a mismatch error
    Then I tried the system 290.wad install and then rebooted wii
    Now all I get is a green light on the wii but the screen stays blank.....
    Is this bricked??
    Any resolution???
    No there is no preloader as that was the next step!!
    Please someone I need to know if I have to buy him a new one......
     


  2. corolla0305
    OP

    Newcomer corolla0305 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Australia
    any help...... please??
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    if it had a chip you dont need to soft mod. and yep now it's bricked for sure.
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    since it has a modchip you could try an autoboot disc with Any Region Changer on it and return to 3.4
     
  5. SpAM_CAN

    Member SpAM_CAN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whoops. ALWAYS install Preloader before doing stuff like this!
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    this is what i dont understand people trying to softmod a chipped wii. if you have a chip you dont need tp, dont need loaders all you need is the hbc disc setup install the hbc than you can do anything.
     
  7. corolla0305
    OP

    Newcomer corolla0305 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah he tried an auto boot disc and nothing worked...... he got this wii off the net premodded and didnt know what chip was in it just that it came with a folder of games.......
    i have soft modded 15 wii's and never had a problem
    the thing is the green light goes on
    the wii still makes noises loading and stuff and if a disc is in it spins....
    any possibility the problem is a wifi module or just bricked???
     
  8. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you install ios30 before you overwrote the sysmenu?
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i'd say the wii is pretty much fucked now!
     
  10. corolla0305
    OP

    Newcomer corolla0305 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Australia
    how could i try an autoboot disc when no screen comes on????
    yeah ios30 was installed
     
  11. Apekop

    Member Apekop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Location, location, location.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    take a look at savemii. Im not saying it WILL fix the problem but this sounds like one of those problems where you could at least take a look at it before you throw your wii away.
     
  12. gitkua

    Member gitkua GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah I'd say try SaveMiiFrii (gamecube controller thing), since it has a modchip, maybe autobooting will work with it...
     
  13. swf3

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    arc softmii kils wiis!
    go on ebay buy a wii £60
     
  14. swf3

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    arc softmii kils wiis!
    go on ebay buy a wii £60
     
  15. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea, get the recovery-boot.
    boot a region-patched copy of the pink bakup disk - see if it will install ios16

    if it does, there is a bootable disk on here with wad-manager on it.
    take that, try to inject wad-manager with selectable ios into it - then boot it.

    if your very lucky it will run.
    then stuff ios50 & sysmenu 3.4E on it and hope it works!

    this is all theory btw, but right now it's all you have!
     
  16. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    ARC offline worked for me when I was used it to help a friend downgrade his partially updated 4.0J back to 3.2J, luckily.

    Since the set was originally was 3.4, I would downgrade it to 3.2 first before attempting any softmods (if it was a pure virgin set with no modchip)

    Never try to install softmod like cioscorp etc on a chipped set as it screws up the direct disc channel reading capability of the modchip.
     
  17. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    except he lives in Australia [​IMG]
     
  18. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'v had stuff off australian ebay, it just means he's gonna get killed over the shipping costs [​IMG]
     
  19. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you keep ranting that shit but its the morons who cant understand a simple guide that kill Wii's

    [​IMG] £60 a wii ill take 20
     
  20. TheNewMouse

    Newcomer TheNewMouse Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    The Other Place
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why didnt you just install cios rev10 and leave it alone??

    there was no need to go down to 3.2 dude.



    ps. Wiisel i totally agree gba needs a softmod section, most other forums have a softmod only section not naming names but ya'l know where i mean.
     

Share This Page