Bricked Wii (It has Preloader 0.28)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by two-rok, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    So i had my wii on 3.2E softmodded, i wanted to update to 4.2E so i went to wii options and "format wii memory", thinking it would be the best way to update it to 4.2E by using hackmii after formatting wii memory, WRONG...

    it asked me to reboot, but it rebooted into preloader, because it can't find a system menu ticket or something like that, HBC doesn't load either because it was erased...

    now preloader gives an error "exception (DSI) occured" when i try to launch any .dol or .elf to try and fix it,

    i read somewhere that i could fix it by reinstalling preloader, tried to load it's dol, it loads but freezes on the intro screen, this happens with 0.28 dol and 0.29 dol.

    my next try will be wii backup disk 1.31 or the universal unbrick disk v2, but i think it won't work [​IMG]

    can anyone please give me some hints?
     


  2. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,820
    8,120
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Are you able to load Dop-Mii from priiloader?
     
  3. ether2802

    ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Former Staff
    4,350
    5
    Oct 14, 2007
    Mexico
    Pto. Vallarta
    did you installed BootMii at least as an IOS...??
     
  4. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    already tried DOPMii, but it borks an "exception (DSI) occured" error [​IMG]
     
  5. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008

    no, this is my 2nd (as in secondary) Wii, it's been collecting dust for some time, when i softmodded it bootmi didn't exist yet, that's why i installed preloader
     
  6. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,820
    8,120
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Can you start the boot.elf or bootmini.elf from the latest hackmii installer?
     
  7. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    no, that shows the same DSI error.

    but i tried DOP-Mii v13 that you suggested and it loads up normally (the version i tried before was another one wiibre edition or something like that), so what can i do with DOP-Mii? is it safe to install System Menu-NUS-v482.wad? it's system menu 4.2E wad, i guess it will work right?

    i just don't want to end up without system menu and without preloader, that would make my hopes fade away
     
  8. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
    Stop now!
    Reinstalling SM will remove preloader.
     
  9. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,820
    8,120
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Sounds good. Go to IOS, MIOS, BC and Reinstall IOS70 v6174 without patches and System Menu 4.2E then.
     
  10. ether2802

    ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Former Staff
    4,350
    5
    Oct 14, 2007
    Mexico
    Pto. Vallarta
    what you need to do is to install the IOS58 and reinstall HBC (if possible)...!!
     
  11. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
    I think we need some good recovery option first. Bootmii@boot2 for example and working HBC. Then touch SM.
     
  12. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
    For good start find all applications which You can run from priiloader.
    DOP-Mii is good start.
    Try syscheck v1.6.2, 1.6.3, 2.0.0 or 2.0.1 and post report there.
    Are You able to run MMM?
     
  13. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008

    installed IOS58 but still can't load hackmii installer or homebrew channel forwarder
     
  14. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008

    syscheck 162 showed some menu for a fraction of a second and then returned to preloader
    syscheck 163 showed DSI error
    syscheck 200 couldn't find it
    syscheck 201 worked

    here's the report: http://rapidshare.com/files/417118624/sysCheck.csv

    i'm not able to run MMM (DSI error)
     
  15. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
  16. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    No i didn't, i don't even know what that is.

    is my wii fixable? [​IMG]
     
  17. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
    Sure
    Try these versions of MMM and tell if anyone works.
    http://mmm4wii.posterous.com/

    We need ability to reload clean IOS and launch elf/dol of HBC installer.
     
  18. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    only 13.2 is available, it doesn't work

    isn't DOP-Mii helpful to reload clean IOS's?
     
  19. mike333

    mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    708
    61
    Aug 30, 2010
    Poland
  20. two-rok
    OP

    two-rok Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 24, 2008
    12.5 (DSI error)
    12.7 (DSI error)
    12.8 (black screen)
    13.1 (black screen)
    13.2 (black screen & drive blue led lights up)

    couldn't find any other versions

    so if i reinstall the IOS's with DOP-Mii and then launch hackmii from preloader, wouldn't it work as if i were running from MMM app launcher?