Bricked Playstation TV? No longer detecting controllers

sblast3

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
284
Country
United States
Edit: Issue is fixed! See posts for details

After copying a ur0:tai/config file from my Vita 2000 to my PS TV, the PS TV is no longer recognizing the controller.

I renamed the original tai folder in ur0: to tai.old, then copied the tai folder from my Vita 2000 to the Vita TV.
After rebooting, my PS4 controller no longer controls the PS TV when plugged in.

Here's the ur0:/tai/config.txt I copied to my PS TV (Again, it works perfectly on my 1000 and 2000):
Code:
# For users plugins, you must refresh taiHEN from HENkaku Settings for
# changes to take place.
# For kernel plugins, you must reboot for changes to take place.
*KERNEL
ur0:tai/gamesd.skprx
# henkaku.skprx is hard-coded to load and is not listed here
ur0:tai/nonpdrm.skprx
ur0:tai/reF00d.skprx
ur0:tai/repatch.skprx
*main
# main is a special titleid for SceShell
ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx
*NPXS10015
# this is for modifying the version string
ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx
*NPXS10016
# this is for modifying the version string in settings widget
ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx

What's weird though is that the issue persists even after plugging in a vita memory card with a blank config.txt file (Overriding ur0 config with ux0) - you can see on the gamecard activity light that it's no longer reading the sd2vita, so it appears to be loading the blank ur0 config instead. So maybe the issue has nothing to do with the config file?

I used a USB power reader to detect the voltage/amps coming from the Vita TV's USB port got the following results:
5.10V 0.00A when no controller plugged in
5.11V 0.03A when controller is plugged into Power + Data and not connected via bluetooth (controller power is off)
5.11V 0.04A when controller is plugged into Power + Data and "connects" via bluetooth but the white light is stuck and the controller doesn't work
4.99V 0.47A when controller is plugged into Power only (charges with the pulsing orange light)

When plugging in the PS4 controller, no light on it appears - it stays off.
If the console is on and I press the PS button on the PS4 controller, the white light on the controller gets stuck until I reset it or plug it into a PC. Clearly it is communicating via bluetooth - when I shut down the console the white light turns off. However, this strangely persists even after holding down the reset button on the PS4 controller, even though that should clear the controller's bluetooth devices.

My PS4 controller works perfectly when plugged into a PC, so it's not the controller.

I also tested using my glitched-out PS3 controller (completely unrelated to this issue, but the wrong buttons get pressed when using it with my PS3/PC)
5.10V 0.00A when controller is plugged into Power + Data
5.10V 0.00A when controller is plugged into Power only
5.10V 0.02A after pressing the PS button until the controller turns back off (both Power+Data and Power only)
The controller turns off afterwards, so it appears to completely ignore the existance of the PS TV. It doesn't connect to bluetooth at all.

Since the controller is never detected via USB, holding down R/R trigger to boot into recovery mode doesn't work.

Is there some way to factory reset a Playstation TV without using a controller? Perhaps an skprx file on ux0 can force boot the Vita into the recovery menu? Or one that wipes bluetooth controller settings? Or one that stops henkaku.skprx from loading?
 
Last edited by sblast3,

sblast3

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
284
Country
United States
try a ps3 controller. I see nothing wrong with your config.txt.
I'm going to borrow a friend's PS4 controller and see if that can connect to USB without the bluetooth glitching out first. If that doesn't work then I guess I'll buy a new PS3 controller that's not glitched.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,144
Trophies
2
XP
19,809
Country
United States
can you use the ps4 controller in the recovery menu? on the pstv, you just have to hold the power button on the back for a bit to get into it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sblast3

sblast3

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
284
Country
United States
can you use the ps4 controller in the recovery menu? on the pstv, you just have to hold the power button on the back for a bit to get into it.
THANK YOU!!! It's connecting!! Looked everywhere for documentation on this and couldn't find it!!
Is it safe to choose 4. Restore This System?
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,144
Trophies
2
XP
19,809
Country
United States
if the controller works in the recovery menu, you may have to do a system restore (remove the sd2vita and any memory cards, can't recall if it formats them), but it should wipe ur0/tai. it's a fail safe in case something goes wrong.

it will do a factory reset, but don't panic, it's not that hard to get everything back or shouldn't be anyway this day and age.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,144
Trophies
2
XP
19,809
Country
United States
I actually use different tai configs for my psv and pstv, but that's only because there are some minor differences. one of which is the mac spoofer. it only works correctly on the vita, since the option it's under in system settings doesn't exist on the pstv.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sblast3

sblast3

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
284
Country
United States
if the controller works in the recovery menu, you may have to do a system restore (remove the sd2vita and any memory cards, can't recall if it formats them), but it should wipe ur0/tai. it's a fail safe in case something goes wrong.

it will do a factory reset, but don't panic, it's not that hard to get everything back or shouldn't be anyway this day and age.
Successfully factory reset & I can control the dashboard again! Thanks again for your help!
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,144
Trophies
2
XP
19,809
Country
United States
I personally think something got corrupted with the boot_config.txt. that's the heart of enso. it should be in ur0/tai. a factory reset will reset that in case something has gotten messed up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sblast3
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Good morning! Today I managed to wake up in the morning. It is a welcome step