BootMii Navigation

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gavster2002, May 21, 2009.

May 21, 2009

BootMii Navigation by gavster2002 at 7:42 PM (3,489 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. gavster2002
    OP

    Newcomer gavster2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have 3.2E and was going to use Bootmii to backup my NAND before upgrading to 4.0
    I have installed bootmii into boot 2 and when i reboot the bootmii menu comes up ok.
    Now comes the problem... I am unable to navigate? I do not have a hard wired controller so i am trying to use the eject / reset buttons to navigate. This does not work? eject button just sounds like its trying to eject while the reset button resets the wii.
    How do I use this?

    Also I have hardmodded wwkey2

    Thanks

    Gav
     
  2. roku93

    Member roku93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Power button cycles through the options, reset chooses. 100% sure it doesn't work?
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's the Power button that cycles, not Eject.
     
  4. gavster2002
    OP

    Newcomer gavster2002 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys, yeah I was being a nob. should learn to read better in future!
    Working now! 4.0 here i come!

    Gav
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Power button: ->
    Reset button: accept
    Eject button:
     
  6. DLOGAN

    Newcomer DLOGAN Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't want to start a new topic for this so I'll use this one.

    I've installed the updated HBC which installed bootmii but when I press the power button it doesn't cycle through the options, only the reset button does anything which goes back to the Wii Menu.

    Any help?
     
  7. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Did you install it as boot2 or an IOS?
     
  8. DLOGAN

    Newcomer DLOGAN Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An IOS I'm sure, it said there was some issue and couldnt install as boot2. Is there a fix?
     
  9. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Wired GC controller is your only option then.
     
  10. DLOGAN

    Newcomer DLOGAN Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So if I buy a wired GC controller and go to the HBC and then load BootMii and make a NAND backup, if my Wii then bricks at some point how would I get access to BootMii as it doesn't boot up before the wii does?
     
  11. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    You would need Preloader to boot right into HBC.
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Not, if you install it as an IOS it won't give brick protection
    The only thing you can do is to install preloader
     
  13. DLOGAN

    Newcomer DLOGAN Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My girlfriends dad said it would be best to upgrade and then downgrade, is this too risky without protection and would I be best just to get a preloader? My Wii is v3.4
     
  14. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...you are on are 3.4E [​IMG]

    There's no preloader for that version, but hey you have HBC and cIOS 249 (Wanikoko's rev 10.....as well as a trucha-bug enabled IOS 16) installed so you can downgrade to 3.2 or upgrade to 4.0 and get preloader if you want banner-brick protection! (next best thing to BootMii).

    I think 3.2 is smashing.

    If you really want (banner-brick) protection, but bootmii can only be installed as a cIOS, it's your best bet.

    If you are on 3.2 and you have cIOSCorp installed (and have a Game Cube controller), you can use a DVD disk (backup) to run wad manager from a DVD and remove a bricking wad.

    [​IMG]

    p.s. I am his girlfriends dad [​IMG]
     
  15. DLOGAN

    Newcomer DLOGAN Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems downgrading is best, I'll look into it later and hopefully figure it out, thanks [​IMG]
     

Share This Page