Boot Mii wont install to boot2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darthspartan, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    I have a Wii lu61 and it wont install BootMii to boot 2 just iso.
     
  2. icebrg5

    icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,326
    41
    Apr 1, 2007
    United States
    whats your point?

    Not all wiis cant install bootmii as boot2.
    Yours is one of them.
     
  3. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    so should i just give up the whole idea of moding or continue
     
  4. icebrg5

    icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,326
    41
    Apr 1, 2007
    United States
    Continue.Just dont do anything stupid

    Make sure you install preloader as well.
     
  5. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    so just folow the tutorial i found but don't reboot until preloader is installed
     
  6. icebrg5

    icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,326
    41
    Apr 1, 2007
    United States
    You can reboot but dont install any wads thats your not 100% sure about.If you install a bad one and get a bannerbrick without preloader already installed then your done.
     
  7. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    ok ill prosed with cation. I really don't want brick.

    Should i install preloader first than cios. Will preloader prevent bricks?
     
  8. SublimeAndEtc

    SublimeAndEtc GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    123
    0
    Apr 22, 2009
    United States
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Get Preloader ASAP. That combined with BootMii as an IOS (since you can't do boot2) will make you unbrickable. That is, unbrickable within reason of course...
     
  9. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    so ignore cios and get preloader then get BottMii ?
    I just don't want a brick. Ive modded consoles in the past and hate bricks. Just doble checking install order i have homebrew channel use that to install preloader than go though Ciso
     
  10. icebrg5

    icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,326
    41
    Apr 1, 2007
    United States
    Install it however you want.

    Just follow the guide your using to downgrade/upgrade until its done.

    Then install preloader.

    Then you can install whatever you want and not worry about it.
     
  11. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    But can i install preloader first? This would prevent me from being able to brick if i screw up right.
     
  12. icebrg5

    icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,326
    41
    Apr 1, 2007
    United States
    yeah you can but following the guides i doubt you would brick it.
     
  13. beegee7730

    beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Banned
    1,693
    0
    Mar 31, 2009
    England
    *ahem*
    *looks in my signatures general direction*
     
  14. darthspartan
    OP

    darthspartan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 3, 2009
    United States
    Well i cant install Preloader first. I don't like my guide it seems like it will brick someone have a good guide suggestion.
     
  15. zektor

    zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,325
    22
    Nov 29, 2005
    United States

    Unbrickable (even within reason) is just not the case. Bootmii is installed in IOS, Preloader is as well...and shared with the system menu. This system is as easily brickable as any other. You may get "lucky" and be able to access preloader to fix damage if it should occur, but your only true protection is to be careful in what you install. Do research before running anything on that Wii...
     
  16. HoschY

    HoschY Member

    Newcomer
    14
    0
    Nov 2, 2008
    Gambia, The
    i thought its impossible to get real brickprotection until you cant install Bootmii as Boot2 installation :/
     
  17. 2yugimoto

    2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    417
    0
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    Philidelphia
    how about if you got like me:

    preloader 0.29 and bootmii as boot 2 with cios corp

    am i unbrickable?