Black Wii with Anti Homebrew protection ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiUBricker, Dec 11, 2009.

Dec 11, 2009
  1. WiiUBricker
    OP

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,821
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hey all, I got a new limited edition of a black Wii (she looks fantastic [​IMG] )

    Ok, I installed successfuly BootMii IOS, HBC 1.0.6, DVDX as well as cIOS rev15 and hermes cIOS222/223. Im on 4.2E.

    The problem is, I cannot lauch any homebrew applications. I always get a black screen. What's the reason of that? Has it anythng to do with the new blackWii?

    As far as I know, I am not the only one with the exact same problem. Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. GRIM.657

    Newcomer GRIM.657 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Just to clarify... you can't launch any homebrew? Or is it just burns/ISOs that don't work? You had to launch some homebrew at one point if you've run the bootmii installer and the cIOS wads.

    Will HBC load?
     
  3. WiiUBricker
    OP

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,821
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    No I dont have usb loader installed yet, I just cant launch any homebrew application. Always get a black screen. I used the Complete Softmod Guide to install successfully homebrew and all applications did work at this time, but suddenly my hbc did stop lauching any applications. I did not modify anything since the cIOS installation.

    The odd thing about this, is that this shit happend to another people with black wiis as well.
     
  4. GRIM.657

    Newcomer GRIM.657 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    If that's the case the there's a good chance it is related to some new security in the black Wii...

    Try re-installing an official 4.2 system menu, then hacking. If the black versions came with a special system menu then this should fix it...

    If it doesn't then it'd almost sound like there's hardware based anti-homebrew in there... but that doesn't make any sense at all, so I'm highly doubtful.
     
  5. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    20€ on a guess IOS36 is missing
     
  6. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Was my first idea, too. But why would it miss IOS36, since it's not stubbed? There is no practical reason... well, except the side effect mentioned above.
     
  7. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    For what it's worth, I have had a similar problem ever since I updated the Homebrew Channel to 1.0.6. Many times, when I try to run homebrew applications, the Wii will get stuck on a black screen. However, if I keep trying, they will eventually load. Maybe this could also be the case for you?

    I am on 3.0U, and the highest IOS that I have is IOS35.

    Also, this problem seems to have been mentioned...

    http://bugs.hackmii.com/index.php?do=detai...0&project=6
     
  8. WiiUBricker
    OP

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,821
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    No the IOS36 is not missing. As I said before, the HBC did suddenly stop launching homebrew. After the installation of cIOS etc. any applications worked fine, but for some reason it did stop the next day =/
     
  9. Sc4rFac3d

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My blackWii works fine after following the simple tutorial. Haven't tried much but WADs installed fine.
     
  10. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    nintendo wouldnt do that. how would they expect him to play SSBB or other games that require that IOS?
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    The common point seems to be HBC using IOS 35...
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The update on the disc?
     
  13. XionTeBe

    Newcomer XionTeBe Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Spain

    Can you please tell me, where you found the simple tutorial ?? Im having major problems too [​IMG]

    Thx in advance
     
  14. SmokeSomeWeed

    Newcomer SmokeSomeWeed Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Tajikistan
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

    That's the one to use. One step was a bit vague, dunno if it's corrected but you should get around it
     

Share This Page