Hacking Black screen when playing PSP games on CFW

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
1,481
Trophies
0
XP
1,642
Country
Portugal
Every time I run a PSP game I have a black screen after clicking the XMB icon after mounting the .iso with multiMAN and running the game with different PSP Launchers. I only tested supposedly playable games according to the PSP Emulator Compatibility List but I still have this problem. I'm on Rebug REX 4.84.2. I can't use webMAN MOD/sMAN since it always freezes my PS3.
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,386
Country
Italy
Which game? It may plainly be incompatible - try a known working game (like pinball dreams or pinball fantasies or everybody's golf portable 1/2)
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,386
Country
Italy
What about those that don't show up on that list (the same thing goes for the PSX and PS2 ones)?
Try yourself :)

Anyway, which ones should I convert to PKG (and if so, which program should I use to do that) and which ones should I keep as ISO?
It doesn't matter (for PSP ones*) - use whichever format you prefer (which for me would be pkg because I love having everything in the proper official UI)

* in fact it's theoretically better as pkg because you can have control over the emulator tweaks, but (just like PS2 software emulation configs) most people don't even remotely have the knowledge to even make an educated guess at which options to try, because they require knowing how the game works in the first place...

It's just very inaccurate (no support for loading separate executables, no support for direct umd sector access, ...) so don't expect miracles even if you knew :)
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
1,481
Trophies
0
XP
1,642
Country
Portugal
Try yourself :)


It doesn't matter (for PSP ones*) - use whichever format you prefer (which for me would be pkg because I love having everything in the proper official UI)

* in fact it's theoretically better as pkg because you can have control over the emulator tweaks, but (just like PS2 software emulation configs) most people don't even remotely have the knowledge to even make an educated guess at which options to try, because they require knowing how the game works in the first place...

It's just very inaccurate (no support for loading separate executables, no support for direct umd sector access, ...) so don't expect miracles even if you knew :)

If it doesn't matter for PSP games then why do some users state that some .isos don't work so they need to be converted to .pkg to work? I want to spare the PS3's HDD so I prefer to have the games on the .iso file extension (I use an external HDD).

What control over emulator tweaks (including the one related with PS2 games) are you talking about? It's the first time I'm playing PSP games and I don't know why are there so many PSP Launchers.
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,386
Country
Italy
I don't know why are there so many PSP Launchers
They were simply made differently - with or without adhoc party boot screen, with or without priority (potentially appearing on top of the installed packages list), etc

why there are so many people using PS2 Launchers when the games can be mounted by multiMAN.
*man homebrews + cobra/mamba can mount a disc image and therefore make it appear as a physical disc, but not all PS3s support physical PS2 discs and it's quite hard to find one designed to accept UMDs ;)

Should I convert the PS2 ISOs (and PSX ones) to ISO?
To PKG you mean? Your choice, it doesn't really improve compatibility (in fact it's relatively hard to package PS1 games with audio streaming, and PS2 packages can only use software emulation in case your console has PS2 hardware) but they look nice on the XMB :)

I don't know why it's stated my controller wasn't detected until I press the Home button when playing a PS2 game.
Controllers are turned off when rebooting the console - which includes entering or exiting PS2 mode, which is run by a dedicated kernel (that's the same reason why you can't have software fan control, ftp, or similiar plugins during a PS2 game)

I read I needed to have a true DualShock 3 controller to play them (PS2 games) but I was able to play one of them (the only one I tried) with a 3rd party controller.
A sufficiently accurate clone of a DS3 (or Sixaxis) is equivalent to the original ;) and the PS3 is fairly lenient when it comes to those, if compared to a PSTV or PSP Go!
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
1,481
Trophies
0
XP
1,642
Country
Portugal
*man homebrews + cobra/mamba can mount a disc image and therefore make it appear as a physical disc, but not all PS3s support physical PS2 discs and it's quite hard to find one designed to accept UMDs ;)

What's the problem with not all PS3s supporting physical PS2 discs since like you said they can run PS2 games if a homebrew with Cobra is installed? Who talked about UMDs?

To PKG you mean? Your choice, it doesn't really improve compatibility (in fact it's relatively hard to package PS1 games with audio streaming, and PS2 packages can only use software emulation in case your console has PS2 hardware) but they look nice on the XMB :)

I meant converting PS1 and PS2 .cue + .bin games to .iso.

Controllers are turned off when rebooting the console - which includes entering or exiting PS2 mode, which is run by a dedicated kernel (that's the same reason why you can't have software fan control, ftp, or similiar plugins during a PS2 game)

A sufficiently accurate clone of a DS3 (or Sixaxis) is equivalent to the original ;) and the PS3 is fairly lenient when it comes to those, if compared to a PSTV or PSP Go!

But I read only true DualShock 3 controllers would work and I'm not sure if my controller is an accurate clone of a DS3. If it worked then why did it state it was having problems with it?
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    S @ sneffel: chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-chat-chit-ch...