Birth By Sleep slowdown?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by overslept, Sep 3, 2010.

Sep 3, 2010

Birth By Sleep slowdown? by overslept at 11:45 PM (2,684 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting some slowdown on my untouched usa BBS iso during the "Mastery Exam" battle in the beginning of the game right after you choose your character.

    Maybe it's because there's a lot of stuff going on. I also noticed that this happened earlier at the night area when at the beginning of a fight, when it zooms in on the contenders' faces, it lagged a bit. But then it cleared up during the battle.

    Maybe it's my memory stick... should I get a Sony? Maybe Lexar wasn't the way to go.
     
  2. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's kinda normal for the game to lag when there's shitload of stuff going on at the same time. Mine lagged like crap at some occasions too, when there were loads of enemies on screen and I was spamming skills like mad.
     
  3. Taik

    Member Taik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    France
    Go to the game's settings, there is something to change the CPU speed or whatever which helps a lot
     
  4. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Changing the options worked. Works like a dream now... no slowdown at all. VERY fun game. Best I've played on PSP so far.
     
  5. The Viztard

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    I've been experiencing some lag, but not too much also...but when you mean something to change the CPU speed do you mean the 222/333 option or the 16-bit/32-bit option? And would this help with the lag that is sometimes experienced w/ many enemies (crap going on) on the screen? Cause that's where I see it happening. I would try it right now but I don't have my psp at the moment...Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  6. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, changing the options made a HUGE difference. Makes this game a lot more enjoyable... didn't touch the color options yet though. Does changing it to 32-bit make a big impact?
     
  7. The Viztard

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, so the whole 222/333 option did the trick? Ought to try that when I can. Thanks. [​IMG]

    EDIT: Is it 222 or whichever the option on the left is (from what I can remember) the default setting?
     
  8. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    The default it 222MHz. Accelerated is 333.
     
  9. The Viztard

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    So you changed it to 333 and that's what made the difference?

    (Lol, should have asked this initially, my bad [​IMG] )

    EDIT: And from what I can remember that overclocks the psp's cpu speed? And would make the battery drain much more quickly? But in this case result in smoother gameplay?
     
  10. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm playing plugged in, so it doesn't matter for me [​IMG]
     
  11. The Viztard

    Member The Viztard GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Hueco Mundo...=P
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, cool. Just wonderin'
    I'll prob play it plugged in too, did that for GOW...[​IMG]
     
  12. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    haven't seen the cpu speed option yet, but it's playing smooth here.
    even when using remotejoylite to play it on my laptop.
     
  13. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the M33 firmware, and I already had the PSP power to 333 before I played the game, I'm using 333 in-game with 32-bit colors and I haven't seen any slowdown.
     
  14. Taik

    Member Taik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    France
    32 bit color thing is useless, really.

    The CPU thing is awesome BUT the battery will drain way faster (it's especially useful outside Maleficient's castle IMO)
     
  15. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Naw dawg. On my 2000's screen, I can see a huge difference between 16/32 bit. There's little dots on the top of my screen on 16 bit, but on 32 bit it's all beautiful color.
     
  16. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a 2000 and I can't really see the difference either.
     

Share This Page