beta disks can't be read by gamma

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by martyb, Feb 7, 2009.

Feb 7, 2009
  1. martyb
    OP

    Newcomer martyb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    I had previously tried install HBC using TPH and wiigator beta. I copied a couple of games I own (Beach Sport & Mario Kart) (one using rawdump, one with friidump, both burnt with imgburn with default setting) and both would run with backup loader. But after getting past the bit of picking the player and choosing a course they would die with a wii disk error.
    I was hoping that if I used Big Moe's v3 installer the problem would be fixed.
    After doing all the steps (I skipped starfall due to some error) I had wiigator gamma and the two new loader channels in place. But now both backup games immediately return a "read error -324"
    Both disks are dvd -r , different manufactures, worked a bit with beta, not working at all with gamma.

    Where do you think I went wrong???

    All help appreciated. Cheers Martyb
     
  2. acesniper

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    You can try installing Softmii. Search for it.
     
  3. martyb
    OP

    Newcomer martyb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Acesniper,

    I'll give it a go. By the way, I went and tried it again this morning and found that I'm not getting an error anymore. Now it just keeps cycling the drive, sometimes the slot lights up and it just goes back to trying to load over and over. At this point the only way to stop it is to hold down the power button on the console. I tried the wiigator channel using an original disk and the game played fine. All very strange....

    Martyb
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    324 is cause of:

    cIOS installation unproperly
    Bad Media/burn (even if they worked of beta)
     
  5. BMasterP

    Member BMasterP GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    DOESBURG
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got this thing with the drive too, but only when i burn my memorex(and theyre SHIT MEDIA at least mine are) with 2 burners from 2006(a nec and a samsung toshiba) when i burn them with my newest samsung toshiba at 4 speed they work and i'm past that problem, so realy would advice you to first check your media and burner.
     
  6. martyb
    OP

    Newcomer martyb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'd have thought if the media was no good it wouldn't have worked with the beta. Then again the games started but failed after a few minutes into it.

    Am thinking that the cios is the problem, may try that first and perhaps softmii. Am a little worried that the softmii site is only saying the current release is only tested on 3.2u. I've downgraded to 3.2e using Big Moes installer v3.

    Any suggestions?

    Cheers

    Martyb
     
  7. 25164963

    Newcomer 25164963 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had this problem and was told to clean my lens so i took my wii cover off and the metal casing, go a cotton bud and some disk cleaner solution and cleaned the lens waited for it to dry and put it all back together and it worked perfectly
     

Share This Page