Best programming language to start with?

PopeHat

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
What, in your opinion, would be the best programming language to begin with? Now, a little background about myself. I graduated from high school in 08', failed out of college the following fall, I'm A+ and Network+ certified. I'm hoping to start college again in the fall now that I have less shit on my mind and a foot in my ass (Future wife
biggrin.gif
). What do you think would be the best starting language for someone of my caliber? I come asking you this question because I want to develop for this type of community for fun (Various exploits, homebrew, launchers etc) and hopefully help to improve upon some of the code. I'm hoping to become a contributing member to the community.
smile.gif

Golfman560

TheRapist.com
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Well the first I learned was Python and that was pretty simple, but it depends on what you're working on. I leanred Python because I had to use it to mod a few games, but since you're working on Wii stuff I think C++ would be easy because you could start with simple programs that turn on the slot light then move up.

PopeHat

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I was thinking somewhat of the same thing. I was looking through some source code to figure out what languages certain Wii apps were written in and it seemed like it was predominately C++ and ASM. Would it be a good idea to start with C and then learn C++ or just start with C++?

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
I started off with GML (if you'd consider that a programming language), then went on to Visual Basic 6, and then on to C++. C++ was probably the easiest of the three to learn, and from there most of the other languages, such as Java, look very similar.

UltraMagnus

hic sunt dracones
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
well, it depends what you are learning.