Best GBA micro Flsh cart?

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by D.aisuke, Nov 26, 2008.

Nov 26, 2008

Best GBA micro Flsh cart? by D.aisuke at 6:46 PM (3,626 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. D.aisuke
    OP

    Newcomer D.aisuke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everyone!

    So, I was planning on buying a 3 n 1 for my DS lite, but I decided I wanted a GBA flash cart also.

    I was going to just get a GBA sized 3 n 1, but I wasn't sure if I'd be able to do want I want on it.

    The main things I want to do are: Play Pokemon and Pokemon Hacks, and trade to my Retail pokemon Carts.
    Play GBA movies, Back-up my DS retail carts, and Back-up my DS retail cart saves.

    That being said, just I still get a 3 n 1 GBA sized, or is there a different cart I should purchase?

    Thanks in advance for your help! [​IMG]
     


  2. neonix

    Member neonix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Don't get a 3in1 for a GBA, unless you plan to only play one game for a while.

    A 3in1 can only hold 1 game at a time and you'll need a DS to write a new rom to it.

    The only real advantage to having a 3in1 is that when you write the rom to it, the cart works like a retail cart. In other words, it'll boot up directly in any GBA, and the DS will recognize it in cases like if you had Pokemon Ruby on the 3in1 and you were playing Pokemon Diamond and went into the pal Park, you'd be able to migrate Pokemon from the 3in1. I don't know of any other flashcart that does that, but I'm not that experienced with GBA carts.

    I can't recommend a specific cart, but I do recommend against a 3in1 for your purposes. You'll want a cart that uses a memory card for storage (SD, miniSD, microSD).
     
  3. D.aisuke
    OP

    Newcomer D.aisuke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, so would that mean that I could pal park to my Diamond Retail card with out any patching?
    Also would that mean I could trade btw pokemon GBA game on 3n1 and a retail pokemon GBA game without any patching or trouble?
    Because, that's my priority, so, I could deal with having to use my DS to write the roms.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    he wants to play pokemon, that requires RTC ans patching causes compatibility issues when you want to transfer. The EFA doesn't have RTC.
     
  6. XxRoxaSoraxX

    Member XxRoxaSoraxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think any are COMPATIBLE with the micro
     
  7. XxRoxaSoraxX

    Member XxRoxaSoraxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think any are COMPATIBLE with the micro
     
  8. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, what? All of them are.
     
  9. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    he was refering to the gba link port, its not on the micro.
     
  10. D.aisuke
    OP

    Newcomer D.aisuke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    The micro has a link port, but it needs an adaptor to make it bigger so that you can use the link cable. I have extra regular GBA that I use for linking.

    Yeah, the device Linkiboy posted looks good, but I need something with RTC, or does nothing have that anymore?
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    they made a data cable for the micro? I never seen one before. only those for power.

    your pretty much late to the party son. you can get a gba flash cart with RTC second hand.

    you can always try the XG-Flash carts from ic2005.com, those seem to still be in stock, overpriced for whats it worth.

    or you can get 2 of these so you can transfer between 2 pokemon games. and yes this comes with a gba shell:

    http://www.ishopvideogame.com/m3-perfect-l...pter-p-871.html
     
  12. foob

    Member foob GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    Australia
    Yup, I have one.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_Boy_Micro
    "Nintendo redesigned the ports of the Game Boy Micro. The game link port on the Game Boy Micro differs from the Game Boy Advance SP, and it is not compatible with the Game Boy Advance SP's functions without the necessary Micro-specific cables. While the headphone jack port has been restored (an omission in the Game Boy Advance SP), gamers must buy two link cables (Game Boy Micro to Game Boy Micro and Game Boy Micro to Game Boy Advance) to restore full multiplayer functionality. The Nintendo.com store lists the two cables at US$9.95 and US$7.95 respectively. Also, the GameCube-Game Boy Advance cable does not work with the Game Boy Micro."

    ...though nearly always I use the regular Game Boy Advance SP for gaming; the Micro's screen is too small and less comfortable to hold, IMO.
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    seeing one and getting one NOW ARE two seperate things. YOU CAN'T GET IT unless it is second hand.
     
  14. CorruptedAngel

    Member CorruptedAngel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. Smooth

    Newcomer Smooth Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Japan
    Somebody mentioned the EZFlash IV Lite Deluxe (sans 'lip') in regards to the Gameboy Micro in this topic here.
    It seems impossible though to get a hold of this card nowadays.

    I'm also still looking for a reliable solution.

    As for the Supercard DS Mini, I'm not too fond of the supercard product line in general. Does it flush fit into the Micro?

    Any other suggestions would be most welcome.

    Best regards,
    Smooth
     
  16. Smooth

    Newcomer Smooth Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay, that said, which card (that can still be bought) would you recommend for the Micro?
    Since I already have an M3 Perfect (slot 2) I am looking for a solution with 100% compatibility (sans RTC), best if you don't have to patch every game, that fits flush into the Micro.
    I hope I haven't missed any suggestions up until here - but I just can't seem to find a card that meets these 3 requirements.

    EDIT: I just checked out the review of the EZ Flash IV MiniSD. It seems this card fits my needs - Is there anything noteworthy that i missed?

    Could anyone provide more information on this 'case mod'. How hard would it be to do that?

    Best regards,
    Smooth
     
  17. WigWrm

    Member WigWrm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    If you already own a M3 Perfect, how come you are trying to buy an Ez-Flash?
    Not trying to sound bullheaded, just somewhat curious.
     
  18. Smooth

    Newcomer Smooth Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Japan
    It's just that I'm not too fond of the fact that the M3 Perfect sticks out of the slot 2. (But I do get your point)

    Best regards,
    Smooth
     
  19. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    my m3 perfect doesnt stick out? i have the minisd version for my micro.
     
  20. Smooth

    Newcomer Smooth Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Japan
    Are you sure you are not talking about this version, the M3 Perfect SD - Lite?
     

Share This Page