BBC iPLAYER

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by minjeeta, Nov 16, 2009.

Nov 16, 2009

BBC iPLAYER by minjeeta at 12:11 AM (8,527 Views / 0 Likes) 47 replies

  1. minjeeta
    OP

    Newcomer minjeeta Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the immanent release of a channel for the bbc iplayer, probably due to that site not working with the latest wii opera browser.
    Will it just be the old browser with a new banner and default home page? If so could it be altered with wad tools to make others for youtube or eBay for example?
    I really hope so, looking forward to its release anyway as thats why I use the wii browser just for listening back to Gilles Peterson and the Craig Charles shows....M
     


  2. eldi

    Newcomer eldi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No its going to be a dedicated channel - BBC news site has info as does Nintendo Channel
     
  3. minjeeta
    OP

    Newcomer minjeeta Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply eldi but you kind of missed the point.
    I am aware what it is hence the topic, I'm speculating about how its made and its future possibilities. From a financial point of view devloping a wholy new means of accessing there content or licencing one that already works and tweking it seems much more cost effective. The old wii browser displayed iplayer perfectly so it might be the basis of the new channel. And if so could we tinker with it?

    Regards ...M
     
  4. Ossot

    Member Ossot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    United States
    ya idiot. He wants completely blind speculation that no one could possibly have any real insight on at all.

    I think they're going to make it from Firefox 3.6.
     
  5. ridgecity

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    is there a way to make it run on an american wii?
     
  6. wildfire95

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesnt matter what device your on, but if your outside of the UK then you wont beable to watch the shows without a proxy.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FAIL!

    PS3 has had this for sometime now and its built into the XMB! [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    just thought I would say that lol [​IMG]
     
  8. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    lol ya they shudnt add old featres from other consolas bcuz wuts the point??? shud only b ading nu featres by nao. thts y only nes has dpad nd only n64 has stick nd only wii has motion, bcuz other consolas hving the same featres is pointles!!!!!
     
  9. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    LMAO, nice play [​IMG]

    p.s. ignore this... im not a hypocrite mod... [​IMG]
     
  10. wildfire95

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    More info -
    Its being released on November the 18th, free of charge from the Wii Shopping Channel. People should make sure there broadband is up to the job before going for it though, since it will use quite a bit of bandwith - although the BBC iPlayer team have worked consistantly to minimise this issue.

    Screenshots -
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I know im going to get it [​IMG]
     
  11. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I loaded that up and it appeared to just be a link that took me to the large iPlayer site via the PS3's web browser.
     
  12. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    No doubt it will be the same with the Wii version its just made with chunky buttons and navigation is by the controllers [​IMG]
     
  13. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll be grabbing this, could be a nice freebie
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I'm sure I saw it mentioned that its proper new software and that iPlayer doesn't work with the current Opera Browser... Correct me if I'm wrong anyway.
     
  15. propered

    Member propered GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well in the second version of the opera browser they conveniently disabled bbc iplayer (of course for this release - make it an occasion and event)

    I just went back to version 1 of opera-browser then it worked again.....!! if it nothing other than a channel with nothing special than il stick to opera browser version 1
     
  16. MarioMadness

    Member MarioMadness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    On A Higher Consciousness
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well its 12:13AM on tha 18th haha, lets see when it pops up lol

    edit -- it appeared on the Shop at about 12:30, its really actually worth the download, it plays in full screen unlike having to zoom and faff about trying to make it fill the screen

    also i changed my video mode to NTSC with ARC to get better picture quality, but this results in iPlayer simply black screening, so the channel obviously has no NTSC output mode, maybe this can be changed?

    anyway i've dumped it to a 12Mb .wad if anyone from outside the UK would care to take a look at it let me know
     
  17. minjeeta
    OP

    Newcomer minjeeta Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yay I fully agree MarioMadness. way better than I expected. Get it now if your in uk.

    ps. I had to use nus to get v18 of the shop channel first and instal that. When did the shop get an update since 4.2?
    ..M
     
  18. LightyKD

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Damnit! I want a CNN app. Screw the News Channel! If I had a CNN app I would be golden! [​IMG]
     
  19. MarioMadness

    Member MarioMadness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    On A Higher Consciousness
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol @ LightyKD

    @minjeeta haha quality nick btw haha

    mate they keep spewing out shop channel updates to con ya into doin a full update, barstewards
     
  20. daveangel

    Newcomer daveangel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can ya post a wad?? mine wants to system update before adding it

    thanks
     

Share This Page