Battery inside the SCDS-1?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Searinox, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008

Battery inside the SCDS-1? by Searinox at 5:54 PM (1,902 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I just placed an order for a SCDS-1 and I saw on the GBAtemp review that it has a battery inside, though nobody explained its purpose. What does it do, and how long does it last?
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,656
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    It was used when the cart did save on the SRAM and then saved the file on the microSD on the next reset.

    Now it directly saves to microSD, so it's not needed anymore.
     
  3. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its still needed if you run your roms in clean mode (patch off)
     
  4. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Wait... the SCDS has two modes? This is new. What's the differrence between em? Also, is the battery ONLY needed for clean mode? And how long's it last?
     
  5. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I think one saves directly to the Micro SD while the other still uses the SRAM? I beleive there was an option in the patcher menu for cheat patching and other options.
     
  6. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    SRAM save is the only differrence between clean mode and umm... "dirty" mode? O.=.o; But original NDS carts don't even save to SRAM anymore...
     
  7. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I never actually used games with the clean mode so far. I've tried around 80 games, and all of them have worked so far, no problem. And did you read the old review? There's a new one. I've also wrote one last month. It's on my blog here.
     
  8. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    While in clean mode, all patches are off. This includes:
    Speed (for uSD)
    Cheats
    Saver (this is the bit about SRAM saves)
    Soft-Reset
    In-Game guide
    D/L play
    RTS

    But all these can be toggled individually as well. I personally have never had to use the "clean" mode.
     
  9. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've used it once before the Arm7 problems were solved.
     
  10. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    over the life time of the scdsone there has been several games that have not worked in patch mode & have had to use clean mode until they were fixed
    i dont know what they are of the top of my head but im sure if you read the change logs of the older loaders it will tell you

    EDIT
    a quick look at the supercard site give these games would not work in patch mode
    0174,0176,0636,0664,0193,0223,0390,0743,1081,1235,1279,1435,1437,2203
     
  11. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    So clean mode just means all patches OFF? Every cart can do that, I'm just shocked that the SCDS-1 goes as far as even trying to emulate the save chip with a battery-backed SRAM, I mean is that even necessary? Like... are there games which will not work if they don't save on SRAM?
     
  12. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    The capacitor is just there to allow saving without patching the rom.
     
  13. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    There is no way to disable all of the Cyclo's patches.
     
  14. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Kind of useless for all the efffort and money that goes into adding a battery into the cart... oh well.
     
  15. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Keep in mind that the SCDS1 was released at about the same time as the R4, and up until the R4 every flashcart wrote saves to a seperate chip and then copied them to the .sav file next time it was booted up. The EZ-V has a seperate save chip as well, which is is no longer needed for the same reason.
     
  16. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There isn't a battery in the SCDS1. There's a round capacitor that looks very much like a battery, but IIRC it isn't one.
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly what I was about to say. I thought it was confirmed that it was a capacitor, not a battery, which also helps explain why it failed so often (causing many complaints against the SCDS before the firmware update that allowed it to save directly to the microSD card).

    DS games don't even use SRAM. Not enough room in the cartridges to put the battery. They use EEPROM or FLASH if I remember correctly.
     
  18. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
  19. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The internal structure of batteries and capacitors is fairly similar, so it should not come as a surprise that the casing can look quite similar as well.
     
  20. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    ...so that's still a capacitator? XD
     

Share This Page