Banner or Wad checker?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by misteromar, May 26, 2009.

May 26, 2009

Banner or Wad checker? by misteromar at 2:24 PM (2,805 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    I have been looking around for knowledge on wads.

    From what I understand, wads are region specific and using the wrong region wont brick your wii but simply wont work. But you can use a tool like "freethewads" to over come this.

    The other thing is the risk of banner bricking your wii, if there is something wrong with the wad.

    This brings me to the question I most want to know, is there a tool or such to test if wad is ok before you try installing it? Is there way of telling?
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use preloader.
     
  3. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    Im gonna wait for bootmii to finish its beta, then use that to backup the NAND. Apparently that makes you able to recover from bricking.

    I just thought since "banner bricking" is one of the major ways of killing a Wii there might be a tool or such for checking wads before installation. People in the Wii scene are pretty ingenious and all.

    Some people say only use trusted wads, but its not exactly fool proof. Most of the ones I have found are rapidshare or such and torrents.
     
  4. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
  5. ecw

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is a great question. You would think there would be a way to check the Wad. Hmmmm.
     
  6. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont see why people are so obsessed about bootmii.
    Sure, my Wii cant install it but I can do everything it can do with commen sense, preloader and IOS.
     
  7. mydarxide

    Newcomer mydarxide Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    I would love to see some sort of way to test banners for WADS sense I am just starting to get into making custom Graphics for my Channels to have a more unified theme to my wii.
     
  8. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IMO, i think that the dolphin emulator should let you test things like this.

    there should be like a normal wii menu and NAND storage emulation if you get me. where you could put your wii's NAND dumpso the emulator would be just like your actual wii (that way you kinda get a wii laptop [​IMG])

    and if the wad is bad, it would react the same way in which a normal wii would, in the sense that it could brick and give you errors like the system files are corrupt maybe.

    it's like testing it where it can be fixed so so easily by copying the IOS that got corrupt or the system menu or whatever, can just be copied back into the folder again for a re-test. because lets be honest, it's not going to corrupt your computers files lol
     
  9. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    I just read somewhere that if you have all the channel slots filled up on the first page of the Wii. If you install a WAD with a bad banner, it will be installed on the second page, then you still be able to boot up your Wii and use HBC/Wad manager on the first page to remove the corrupted WAD on the second page.

    Can any Wii guru's confirm this?
     
  10. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
  11. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    probably not, but for testing your wads, just use dolphin
     
  12. schwarzyz

    Newcomer schwarzyz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    You can use WadID Tool by Spirax

    [​IMG]
     
  13. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
  14. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    actually its the first 2 pages filled, and yes i did test this along time back before their was even a starfall.lol only works when the banner is corrupt, it gives you about 3 seconds in the wii menu before it says system corrupt, i wouldn't rely on it though, Just install bootmii to boot2 if you can, or preloader if you can't, heck if you can install both. i would never rely on the latter that info is so OLD and i would never trust it
     
  15. misteromar
    OP

    Member misteromar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the info. Its hard to tell sometime between people that know what they are talking about and those who dont.
     

Share This Page