Bad Company 2 Multilayer Reactions

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by juggernaut911, Mar 3, 2010.

Mar 3, 2010
  1. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    The online is pretty broken, IMO.

    No real explanation on ANYTHING.
    Lag on "dedicated" servers ruins games.
    Game get boring when there are like 6 ppl.
    When running, must steer with mouse.
    Weapon selection with the mouse is pretty weird... can't ever really get a select the gun you want.


    A little tip: hit Q when you see a bad guy and you can see them for like 2 seconds...
     
  2. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    You must've bought the game already...?

    Gives me thoughts since I am not really sure whether or not I want this game. I tried the online demo for 360 and I had a lot of fun with like 16 people playing [​IMG]
     
  3. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    What...? When I played the beta it ran great, no lag (well, sometimes it lagged but that was my 4830 [​IMG] ).

    Maybe it's since you played before people can buy the game. [​IMG]

    During the beta I'd log into a hardcore server, 40ms ping and around 30-31 people in there. [​IMG] Doesn't get any better.
     
  4. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    Guys, use the goddamn Q button. It will mark the enemy you look at for your WHOLE TEAM and you get points if a teammate kills him.
     
  5. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    It's legit through steam. I beat the campaign on a pirated version, I'm legit online
     
  6. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, but maybe it's because I live near Dallas. Even with my slow internet, I can get 16 ping if I play on a Dallas server, and there are plenty of those with more than 20 people on them. Loads of fun when playing on the beta.

    Also, here's a pretty good guide:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Though it doesn't say that Q was the spot/socialize button since it's for the consoles. I never used it though since I didn't know what it did.

    I also had some trouble with selecting weapons, since the wheel seems to go the "opposite" way for selecting weapons. Your primaries should be at one end while the secondaries should be at the other, but it seems to be flipped if you can understand what I mean. The key binding doesn't let you make it go the other way. I'm terrible at switching weapons using the number keys as well. I actually want more but I can't buy it right now!

    Running was a minor problem for me coming from Modern Warfare, but... Nothing too big for me to complain about. I got used to it. And the game does need some kind of explanation on some stuff since they don't know what the rush game mode is and people just play like it's deathmatch or something.
     
  7. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I was playing some more. Couldn't join a server from time-outs or I'd get kicked before I was even in the game. The server browser is so frustrating. Click history, 3 minute refresh. Look at all servers... just go outside, this takes sooo effing long. Ridiculous how shitty this game is and how much I paid. I want a fucking refund. This is bullshit. I love you MW1.
     
  8. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I found the server browser to be really slow as well. I guess it's nice to know I wasn't the only one with that problem. I'm guessing they want you to use the "Play Now" option, which would defeat the whole purpose of the server browser. Does it still not let you sort by ping/players/anything? I noticed it had filters, but it wouldn't let me sort by anything when I was playing the beta.
     
  9. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    They'll most likely address the problem soon.
     
  10. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here are some BF:Bad Company 2 Tips, Tricks.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    from watching that video I want it NOA!!!! omg that looks like so much fun XD
     
  12. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    How's the game multiplayer?
    Can anyone compare it to CoD 4, CoD 2 and maybe TF 2?
     
  13. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't tried in a while but it certainly doesn't compare when it's under bugs.
    MW2 is terrible to, just don't mention it!

    Browser was still broken for me, couldn't join anything that wasn't full (reported as not full, tried, full, refresh list, still says not full). Also, my friends list got wiped.
     
  14. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    - Even with no explanations, you get the hang of playing fairly quickly. Game mode descriptions in the "Play Now" section, and tutorials are in the first mission of single player much like MW2.
    - Obviously, this particular game is meant to be played with at LEAST 8 vs 8.
    - They disable sprinting in diagonal directions to be more realistic. You don't see real life people sprinting diagonally while facing straight forward.
    - What do you mean? It's point and click. Presto, you have your gun. o.o

    Playtime for me has become a couple days worth now. Couple crashes here and there, but my experience is good. Only seen maybe 1 or 2 hackers in 200+ matches.

    And for the Server Browser issue, just click "Search" and click "Cancel" right away. You'll get the servers.
     
  15. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    So there are some bugs in the game? Any word on patches?

    Can you maybe compare it to CoD 2/4? I especially want to know if you can play this game even after playing it everyday after a month.
     
  16. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, almost if not all Battlefield games have a fair amount of bugs in them, but nothing really that game-breaking.
    DICE devs have already realized a lot of these bugs and have begun working on them for future patches. (:

    I never played CoD 2, but a little 4, mostly 6. I would imagine 6 is somewhat similar to 4?
    I had a really fun time with 6, but you don't really need skill to be good in it; just quick reaction times. :/

    This game on the other hand requires strategy, teamwork, and actual skill. You can't just run around expecting to kill every enemy you see nor can you camp somewhere and expect to play well (score, win/lose wise).
     
  17. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I meant like not needing a mouse to steer it, not sprint diagonally and stuff.
    I mean while in battle.
     
  18. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Turning while running with anything other than your mouse (ie A and D) would be.. incredibly odd. Unless I'm still misinterpreting your statement. Dx

    And you can switch weapons quickly and easily with the number keys (usually 1-5). Then there's the slower, select method using the mouse's scroll wheel.
     

Share This Page