bad blocks?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cearp, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009

bad blocks? by cearp at 8:22 PM (881 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. cearp
    OP

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    i'm on a new wii, d3-2, black, bootv4, so i couldn't install bootmii in boot2, so i did it as an ios.
    i backed up my nand, and saw that i had no bad blocks.
    is this rare, good? since i read about most people having bad blocks and that it is normal. does that mean i get like an extra 8 or so compared to people who have bad ones?
    is this because i have the newest wii at the moment, maybe it's nand is 'better' or something?

    just wondering [​IMG]
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    many people have no blocks
    nothing special about it (you just have a little more space, thats all)
     
  3. cearp
    OP

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    oh, awesome.
    do blocks 'corrupt'? i.e. my wii is two days old, in a year would i expect it to have a few bad blocks?
    or is it a production thing?
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    haven't heard of blocks corrupting over time

    so if you get more bad blocks, its probably due homebrew that affects the NAND
     
  5. cearp
    OP

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    ah ok, thanks.
     
  6. joker92092

    Newcomer joker92092 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    is there any way of getting rid of bad blocks??? [​IMG]
     
  7. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Nope.
    Don't worry about it, you hardly notice it.
     
  8. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if mine 'corrupted' or not, however I originally had 0 bad blocks when doing a NAND Dump. However, my dog pulled my Wii off the ledge it sits on while it was running, and I now have two bad blocks. Not the end of the world, I'm just happy its still working, however I've definitely witnessed bad blocks appearing.
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    It's natural for a Wii to have some bad blocks coming from the factory. Nothing to worry about.
     

Share This Page