1. DarkMario616

    OP DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    United States
    I bought an HDD:

    -Backed up old data to an external harddrive
    -Removed old drive
    -Installed new HDD
    -PS3 asked to install update via USB so I did, got into XMB etc. --> restore data

    Now, the PS3 threw me an error saying it could not restore my backup data.

    So I thought I would throw in my old HDD to try and back up my data once again...

    NOPE.

    Now the PS3 doesn't recognize the drive, and says to install the firmware software (which would reformat the drive or so I think).

    ...What the hell do I do?
     
  2. cobleman

    cobleman GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,483
    Country:
    you cant update if you want to restore old data you must install backup before you update sorry
     
  3. JustChillin1414

    JustChillin1414 <3 Tiny Tina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Canada
    With the newer PS3's, some of the firmware files are stored on the HDD, the rest on the NOR. So what you've done is updated the NOR and then tried to use another HDD with the old firmware files on it. It won't work.
     
  4. DarkMario616

    OP DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    United States
    Then how the hell was I supposed to use the HDD if it just went to a black screen (with the new one)?

    Sony makes this so complicated.

    I think I figured it out.

    Currently, re-installed old HDD and updated firmware via USB. Now backing up data yet again.

    Now, when I put in the newer HDD, it should be the same, and I should be able to back it up!!
     
  5. Qtis

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,817
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just a question. Why didn't you update the firmware before changing the HDD if you were going to update anyways? Or were you trying to stay on a certain fw?
     
  6. Quincy

    Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The way you are supposed to do this is:
    Image your old drive over to your new drive.
    aka Backup old, move the files/data/whatever over to new, plug in, no hassle :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - horribly, wrong,