B.L.I.N.D.

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JoostinOnline, Sep 28, 2011.

Sep 28, 2011

B.L.I.N.D. by JoostinOnline at 4:29 AM (6,788 Views / 0 Likes) 41 replies

  1. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    What is B.L.I.N.D. for?
    Ways to fix region bricks have been around for a long time. As long as you can boot up Any Region Changer and see the screen, you can fix it. But what if you can't see the screen to fix the setting? While most TV's in Europe support both PAL and NTSC output, very few North American TV's support PAL. That means if you changed the video region of your Wii from NTSC to PAL or MPAL, you will almost certainly get a No Signal screen when loading Any Region Changer.

    Unlike other apps, B.L.I.N.D. doesn't care what setting you have. It will always force the display to NTSC, meaning almost every TV will be able to display it. You no longer have to blindly press buttons and hope you fix the settings. Without seeing what you are changing, you could easily make it worse.

    What kind of bricks can B.L.I.N.D. fix?

    • Theme Brick
    • Region Brick
    • Banner Brick
    • Full Brick (only if you have bootmii as boot2!)
    • Bad AV Encoder (only sometimes)
    • Korean Brick - 003 error
    For more info, check out http://tinyurl.com/BLIND-Wii
     


  2. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    Did some searching and found this ealier; what's the password for the rar files?
     
  3. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    There is no password and there are no rar files. You must have found an unofficial version. Mind telling me where it is?
     
  4. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    How is this meant to fix a 003 brick?
     
  5. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It has the tools to fix it, you just need to launch it through the disc swap method. I need to add a lot more detail to the descriptions. I've been focusing on adding features, but now that I've released v2.0 I can start working on directions.
     
  6. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    If you can't see the screen how are you going to do the "disc swap method" ?
     
  7. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    If it comes down to you having the 003 error AND the wrong video settings, I guess you would have to change the video output on the discs as well. However, having both is very unlikely. I originally created this just for people who screwed with ARC settings and didn't know what they were doing.

    In short, the list of bricks it can fix require that you have some method of launching it first.
     
  8. hvckz

    Newcomer hvckz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Philippines
    what does B.L.I.N.D. means?
     
  9. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Take a look at the banner. [​IMG]
     
  10. hvckz

    Newcomer hvckz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Philippines
    oh sorry i didn't notice it...
    by the way it's cool....

    need to test it with my Eoo3
     
  11. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It took me awhile to come up with an acronym that went well with the app. You use B.L.I.N.D. when you can't see the screen. [​IMG]
     
  12. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    This is great, thumbs up Joostin [​IMG] and thx for releasing.
     
  13. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. A lot of work went into it, although not all of it was mine. It is based on Wii Mod, and jskyboo helped me get started with it, so big thanks go to him as well. [​IMG]
     
  14. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    My apologies, It was another thread I was looking at (that you made about Priiloader) when searching for B.L.I.N.D after it was mentioned in the forums. I just forgot about it, sorry.
     
  15. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    In time, I think I will be able to forgive you. [​IMG]

    Btw, I'm open to suggestions on features to add. If anybody has a (reasonable) suggestion that might benefit toward brick recovery, feel free to let me know.
     
  16. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't a chance to play with BLIND yet (u know what they say, if you play with it too much you'll go BLIND, lol), but I'm pretty sure what I'm about to suggest isn't one of it's current features...

    ... u could add some code from dop-mii to update the version of boot2 to v4. That way people with a vulnerable boot1 but without a wifi connection will be able to update their boot2 to v4 then reinstall bootmii@boot2 to ensure it will remain intact in the event of an accidental ninty update. If you decide to do this, make sure to warn ppl big time that they need to reinstall bootmii @ boot2 afterwards.

    Good job on this mate... u did such a good job that, in time, I think I will be able to forgive you for having an ego the size of America itself [​IMG]
    jks
     
  17. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Creating scripts or .bat that can easily create recovery ISO's, like the ones needed for 003 and make it available as being ones for discs and ones for using wode.

    ... or on second thought, I will just mention this to xflak. He's more of the man for the job. [​IMG] j/k
     
  18. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I already made discs for each version, including a Korean one. Whatever your game region is set to (the other settings don't matter), that is the one you pick.
     
  19. peng

    peng Newbie

    System version: 00000001-000000f9 = IOS 0xf9 = IOS 249
    Partitions: 2 [encrypted, fake signed]



    can not work in 003 brick
     
  20. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    What is that supposed to be? You can launch it through the disc swap method. BLIND isn't just a recovery disc. You could also launch the dol from Priiloader if you can access it. That wouldn't be possible if you got the error from updating, but sometimes people update to 4.2+ with a patched SM IOS, then morons tell them to install an official version, so Priiloader would not be removed.
     

Share This Page