Hacking Atmosphere Crash: Error code: 2137-0040 (0x5089)

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
Hello everyone. Today I decided to install CFW onto my Switch for the first time. And like an idiot, I did not create a backup NAND before downgrading to 6.2. Now I am receiving this error code, and have no idea how to fix this. Any help is very much appreciated!!!
 

Attachments

  • 20190804_132450.jpg
    20190804_132450.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 845

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
What did you do that caused the error?

Edit: To be specific, does this error come up on boot, or when you do something else? How did you downgrade? Why did you downgrade? Why aren't you using Atmosphere 0.9.2?
 
Last edited by Lacius,

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
What did you do that caused the error?

Edit: To be specific, does this error come up on boot, or when you do something else? How did you downgrade? Why did you downgrade? Why aren't you using Atmosphere 0.9.2?
It happens when booting the console, and shows up after the Switch logo shows up. It started happening after downgrading to 6.2 using ChoiDujour.

I tried that before, and had no luck with it.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
It happens when booting the console, and shows up after the Switch logo shows up. It started happening after downgrading to 6.2 using ChoiDujour.
Why did you downgrade to 6.2.0 in the first place? Why aren't you using Atmosphere v0.9.2? Did you use ChoiDujour or ChoiDujourNX to downgrade?

I suggest carefully following this guide or this guide to restore your NAND.
 

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
Why did you downgrade to 6.2.0 in the first place? Why aren't you using Atmosphere v0.9.2? Did you use ChoiDujour or ChoiDujourNX to downgrade?

I suggest carefully following this guide or this guide to restore your NAND.
I thought it was the best firmware to downgrade to from 8.0, but I was wrong. I downloaded a "kit" from a YouTube video, and that is the version of atmosphere that was in the file. I used ChoiDujourNX to downgrade.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
I thought it was the best firmware to downgrade to from 8.0, but I was wrong. I downloaded a "kit" from a YouTube video, and that is the version of atmosphere that was in the file. I used ChoiDujourNX to downgrade.
Never use YouTube video tutorials. They are often outdated and/or wrong. In this case, it was probably both.

Follow one of the two guides I listed above. When you're done, you will likely have a fuse count mismatch that will prevent you from booting your Switch without the use of a custom bootloader like fusee-primary or Hekate. Once you are able to successfully boot your system with fusee-primary or Hekate, you should make a NAND backup with Hekate. Since you likely have 9 burnt fuses, you will need to then update to 7.0.0 or higher for your Switch to be able to boot normally again.

There is no reason not to update to 8.1.0. If you want to preserve your present fuse count, you can install AutoRCM.
 

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
Never use YouTube video tutorials. They are often outdated and/or wrong. In this case, it was probably both.

Follow one of the two guides I listed above. When you're done, you will likely have a fuse count mismatch that will prevent you from booting your Switch without the use of a custom bootloader like fusee-primary or Hekate. Once you are able to successfully boot your system with fusee-primary or Hekate, you should make a NAND backup with Hekate. Since you likely have 9 burnt fuses, you will need to then update to 7.0.0 or higher for your Switch to be able to boot normally again.

There is no reason not to update to 8.1.0. If you want to preserve your present fuse count, you can install AutoRCM.

Alright I will give it a try. Thanks for the help!
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
Last edited by Lacius,

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
Before you follow one of the two guides, you could try just Step 14 in this guide:
https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade

It will require other previous steps as well to get the necessary files setup.

If it doesn't work, do one of the two guides like I originally said.
I am having troubles following that method you sent me. On step 10 (of step 14), it tells me to select "cancel" whenever windows asks me to format. But it keeps saying it is not accessible. So I am unable to delete the files it is talking about. Any ideas?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
I am having troubles following that method you sent me. On step 10 (of step 14), it tells me to select "cancel" whenever windows asks me to format. But it keeps saying it is not accessible. So I am unable to delete the files it is talking about. Any ideas?
Did you input your BIS keys correctly?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,368
Country
United States
I did, but when inputting them it says "Fail! Entropy 7,988". I double checked, and I inputted key0 correctly.
If it failed, your keys are wrong. Without the right keys, you cannot do the guide. Make sure you follow the instructions. It says all of this:
Make sure both BIS key text boxes are FILLED as they should have been in Step 9. Press “Test” and make sure they are green as before.
You can't continue otherwise. It might be easier for you to go through the whole guide from the beginning. My point was that there is a possibility that Step 14 is all you need.
 

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
If it failed, your keys are wrong. Without the right keys, you cannot do the guide. Make sure you follow the instructions. It says all of this:

You can't continue otherwise. It might be easier for you to go through the whole guide from the beginning. My point was that there is a possibility that Step 14 is all you need.
Never mind, I am dumb. I only putted the first set of keys and didn't see I had to input them all. Sorry.
 

Superdork1999

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
89
Country
United States
You can just backup the following instead:
  1. BOOT0/1
  2. eMMC sys
Alternatively, there are instructions for backing up a full rawnand with a small SD card.
Finally able to get back to it now.Just wondering, in step 1.8 it says to copy hactool keys.txt. But i Do not see that anywhere. Any ideas?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Uremums a phonie
  • Veho @ Veho:
    :O C===3
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Armed but not legged.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Put your arms behind your ba-
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Down on your stumps and put your other stumps behind your head!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Everyone's gangster until you get a flat tire
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Everyone gangster until an acorn drops.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    How's your teeth Ken?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Appointments not tell Tuesday but probably fucked
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Makes a guy wanna just give up and get dentures.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Getting a pfm bridge removed in favor of a implant and two crowns finessing the system so insurance actually has to cover it :tpi:
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They got this new 3 on 6 procedure but ofc every dentist thinks people have 80k laying around for them
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    hello wveryone
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Sup.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My rg355xx sp is on flight hopefully it doesn't explode
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Don't worry, it doesn't explode in transport, it explodes when you charge it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's what the captain gets for opening packages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Get you one of those fireproof bags for LiPo batteries.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Anbernic dropped the price $5 how kind
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I wonder if miyoo shelved the flip haven't heard anything on it
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I doubt they would just shelve a whole series, they are probablyvwaiting for the SP hype to die down or for them to start exploding.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtube.com/shorts/_tKRvCo3o9o?si=enA8-Lqwh0Wlj0vG