Asking to format drive, again...

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by tomwalsh, Jul 3, 2009.

Jul 3, 2009
  1. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Read through posts but can't see same issue!!

    I'm currently running under 3.2PAL with CIOSrev 10 and have 100+ games on HDD running with the brilliant USBLoader GX [​IMG] but I've recently installed Ciosrev 12, 13a, 13b and when I run the loader it askes me to format drive?? I re-installed Cios rev 10 and works fine.

    I know that newer revs are for extra USB support for Wii but can anyone tell me why this is happening [​IMG] I could backup my HDD but I'm short of cash to purchace another HDD.(will get one in a few weeks) Whats the benefit of updating Cios? or is there any benefits?? I don't need the use of 2 USB ports on Wii.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  2. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Anyone!!
     
  3. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    try another loader.
    also hook the hdd up to your pc and see if one of the manager programs can load it.

    the drive might be corrupt.
     
  4. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    You probably have your hard drive plugged in the wrong USB port. It's supposed to be the bottom one assuming your Wii is laid down horizontally.
     
  5. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    I have tried using both ports on Wii, also tried all other available Loaders. It asks to format drive when I install Cios 12 and 13, I install again Cios 10 and it runs fine. I have always used PC to add new games and it works just fine.

    When I first formatted the HD I used the original Wani loader, is this the problem???
     
  6. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    That could be the problem or perhaps you didn't partition the drive as primary for all partitions? Regardless... if it's working with 10 and you don't need the other USB port to support a Mic or whatever you can probably stick with rev10. Lots of users choose to stay with that anyways. If you do need to use the second USB port for something else you might try Hermes cIOS 222 installed on 36 (default).

    If you do backup your games and reformat you might want to repartition as well and make certain all partitions are primary.

    I've never had any issues when formatting my WBFS partitions with WBFS Manager 3.01. You may wish to use that.
     
  7. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Will stick with my current setup, cheers for the advice. When rev 14 is released I may have to format HD as I heard you can load Wiiware from HD, is this true anyone???
     

Share This Page