Asian Version 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by klim28, Mar 30, 2011.

Mar 30, 2011

Asian Version 3DS by klim28 at 2:09 AM (27,348 Views / 0 Likes) 67 replies

  1. klim28
    OP

    Member klim28 Hunter4Life

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    LocLac village...
    Country:
    Philippines
    I've got my 3DS yesterday from a local store here in the Philippines. And its Asian Version. Is there really such a thing? It says on the box "ASI". Its in complete English. The 3DS itself, manuals, box, leaflets, etc. And the lady in the story tells its really an Asian version. And the store only sells US version games. Luckily its compatible.

    So that being an Asian Version 3DS means its also compatible with Jap version games? Sorry just a noob question. I also want to have those games. And if its compatible, I'll be much happy to import.

    Thanks
     


  2. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    AFAIK, there are only three different types of 3DS systems (USA, PAL and JAP).

    If it plays US 3DS games, then it must be a USA 3DS system and is not able to play PAL and JAP. I have never heard of an 'ASI' version 3DS. Do you mind taking a picture of the box?
     
  3. klim28
    OP

    Member klim28 Hunter4Life

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    LocLac village...
    Country:
    Philippines
    Sorry low quality pics. Phone cam.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I have with me Pilotwings Resort and Nintendogs + Cats
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    The box looks legitimate.

    Go into the 'Settings' and check what firmware the system is running. The firmware should be on the bottom right of the top screen.
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    ASI...?

    What in the hell is this thing!? [​IMG]
     
  6. klim28
    OP

    Member klim28 Hunter4Life

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    LocLac village...
    Country:
    Philippines
    Its Ver. 1.1.0-OU

    I don't know what that means.
     
  7. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    Photos of the game cartridges might be useful too. The serial code on them might tell us something about their region.
     
  8. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    It must be a USA region 3DS, then. That's the firmware used for USA 3DS consoles. As to why the box says ASI, I don't have a clue.
     
  9. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    My 3DS says 1.1.0-1U. I don't have an O anywhere in that... Unless he meant zero.
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    That's the stock firmware. The firmware before the update.
     
  11. b0ySaLiSe

    Newcomer b0ySaLiSe Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    where did you bought your 3ds? what gamestore?
    by the way i'm here in the Philippines also. [​IMG]
     
  12. whos_next

    Newcomer whos_next Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    The man on the moon
    Country:
    Philippines
    I also went to a local game store and they also have the Asian version. It can play US games... according to this http://ucables.com/nintendo-3ds-c12489 JPN games are only for Japan or Asian systems... so maybe it can play JPN games too.
     
  13. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    It's a Singaporean model. Ive been watching NIntendo Singapore for years. DOnt worry, Singaporean Nintendo uses 220v and US system

    What is the first three letters in the serial code (like TWL for the DSi)

    PS: There's no Nintendo Singapore website but there were Nintendo products in SIngapore that are legit and uses 220v with US units.

    IM planning to buy one locally but I dont know if I can register it on my US club Nintendo account so please provide the 3-letter code in the serial number.

    --

    Here's my million dollars question:

    How much did you bought? Magkano pinagbili mo dyan?
     
  14. klim28
    OP

    Member klim28 Hunter4Life

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    LocLac village...
    Country:
    Philippines
    ^
    You can't register it a Club Nintendo. Already tried it [​IMG]
    Thanks for your answer.

    Anyways... 13500 minus 500 pag cash [​IMG] Roughly $300 @_@

    and its very nice if its true that this Asian Version 3DS can play both US and JP games [​IMG]
     
  15. KingPeovizZ

    Newcomer KingPeovizZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Thailand
    yeah im from Thailand and i own Asian US/Asia 3ds too.it has Singapore/Malaysia on the box.
     
  16. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    well all our 3DS's will play any region once flashcarts roll in.
    (ang mahal naman jan sa pilipinas lolz)
     
  17. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Yes, it is a singapore model. Singapore uses US sets and just changes the charger to a compatible 220 - 240V one.

    How much did you buy your 3DS anyway? I don't think it is cheap in the Philippines; Singapore is already selling it for S$399.
     
  18. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    Nintendo releases in other regions outside europe, japan and ameria.
    Asian is probably their region-free version, for emerging markets in Asia, like China for instance.
    One of the many perks of being poor.
     
  19. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    If the Asian version really is region free then I imagine a lot of people in the rest of the world are going to want to import them.
     
  20. punkyrule

    Member punkyrule GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In a bottleneck
    Country:
    Philippines
    I have the same problem. I saw (and was about to buy) a 3DS, maybe the local store you've mentioned in the Philippines is Data Blitz? Right? I asked the sales man there if they have the US version but said that it was Asian, and said that it was in English and US games are compatible. Should I buy? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page