ARGH! What did my sister do now...

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by epicelite, Jan 18, 2009.

Jan 18, 2009
  1. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Well she got a virus on her laptop, asked me to fix it so I did. Uninstalled Norton and installed Avast. Virus got detected and deleted. Goes about her business.

    Next day internet won't work on her computer...

    Not wired internet, not wireless, the "repair" thing doesn't do shiz. I am on the same router and wireless signal and it works fine for me...

    ARGH. [​IMG]

    Now she wants to blame me for breaking it because I tried to help fix her mistake...

    I did try to fix it but nothing works, so now it's personal.

    [​IMG]

    PS: It has vista 32bit.
    PS: I would format her computer but she doesn't seem to have the fucking windows disc...
     


  2. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Suggestion: Downloading the "fucking windows disc"?
     
  3. hittingray

    Newcomer hittingray Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Try going into network connections and set up a new network/ internet connection, and make sure the ethernet cable is in and the MODEM is switched on, that's all I have to do.
     
  4. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By "internet won't work" do you mean that the internet is completely cut off (fails a ping test), or have you only tried to open the browser? I'm wondering if Avast comes with a firewall, that might be blocking your web browser/other programs until it's set up properly?
     
  5. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    It says "connected to router but cannot connect to internet."

    Also I turned off windows firewall and didn't see any other ones.
     
  6. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
  7. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Linux is only free if your time is worthless...
     
  8. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    Does the computer show that it is connected to the network, and the internet just doesn't work?

    If that is the case, then start, search "cmd.exe". When you have the command prompt open, type this.
    ipconfig release
    once that is done, type
    ipconfig renew
     
  9. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,016
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Try to run Spybot Search and Destroy and Malwarebytes Anti Malware, probably the virus (or the malware) messed up the internet settings. I think they will fix it (and maybe find some other viruses that avast didn't found). [​IMG]
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you could also try a SYSTEM RESTORE back to when you know it was working!

    check that it does not come with Mcaffee software installed a lot of VISTA installations come with it and a 30 day trial .. IT SUCKS its known for cutting the internet off!

    uninstall it if it does!

    and check with SPYBOT SEARCH AND DESTROY and remove anything it finds [​IMG]

    check that the Windows Defender is also not conflicting and cutting the net off ..

    at the above comment FORMATTING is a LAST RESORT .. moreso with a VISTA install as they usually do not come with a VISTA disk! they come with a restore file on the hard drive ... wipe/format the drive = NO RESTORE!
     
  11. hittingray

    Newcomer hittingray Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia

    Linux is much better than Windows, I use a Dual Boot (XP and Ubuntu 8.10 Desktop). Linux has much better performance than Windows and can run most Windows apps under Wine. Linux can also look exactly like XP or Vista and even Mac OS X!! I found a Vista theme that uses Metacity though I could use Compiz or Emerald. I'd go totally Linux but I need Windows for my studies.
     
  12. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Wine = linux users whine about how they want to use windows programs.
     
  13. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    too true. wine is a slow emu for games
     
  14. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States

    haha... can run MOST... yea, and when you try playing WoW, you better have one hell of a powerhouse system because of slowdowns, and just crappy linux.

    Yes, linux is free... no one is denying that... it's free because there is no real support other than more linux users... I can turn on my Windows PC, and everything works... if I boot any linux distro, I have to search for my wireless drivers, my ethernet drivers, sound drivers, video drivers, touchpad drivers, and forget about running any new games on it! ha!

    as stated before, linux is free, but it's your time that it takes from you!
     
  15. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I wanna see someone run crysis on very high DX10 on linux. now that would be pretty cool!
     
  16. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes when you remove adware or virii, the LSP layer gets messed up.

    Try this WinSock fix: http://majorgeeks.com/download4372.html

    Also, someone said above that once a virus is on your PC it's impossible to get off.

    I do PC repair as my day job and a big chunk of PC's I get are virus cleanings.
    I have rarely come across one that I can't clean off. I can't even think of a time where I couldn't get the virii off of the PC.

    The best thing to do is remove the hard drive, connect it to another PC externally, then run the following tools:

    Malwarebyte's Antimalware
    A-squared Free
    Spybot

    Then put it back into the laptop, boot into safe mode, and run the folowing:
    Malwarebyte's Antimalware
    A-squared Free
    Spybot
    HiJackThis

    After that, everything should be clean.

    As for the internet not working, try the WinSock fix I linked to above.
     
  17. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia

    Wow. Beat me to it. Excellent advice.
    I wouldnt remove the HDD though, but im just lazy.
     
  18. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Linux beats windows hands down on simple internet applications , no viri no malware to worry about , you can browse talk (skype , irc aim icq msn whatever) without breaking a sweat. Even on low memory systems performance is far better then on windows.

    No need to worry about what websites you visit!

    And if you are serious about gaming you wouldnt have a laptop (for gaming)in the 1st place [​IMG]
     
  19. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks foe the advice Davantee, but that is for XP and the laptop has VistAIDS.

    STFU about linix.
    1: It is NOT MY LAPTOP!
    2: Windows has a WAY better chance for finding compatible drivers then linux.
    3: I don't care
     
  20. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    seems the op has already spent an ample amount of time trying to get windows to work!

    linux saves time, it just works, and doesn't break
     

Share This Page