Are the new R4DS's spring-loaded?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Korey, Feb 10, 2008.

Feb 10, 2008
  1. Korey
    OP

Newcomer Korey Newbie

United States
    Hello,

I'm just getting into the flash scene after hearing that 90% of DS owners have a R4DS.

So I'm going to buy one from realhotstuff. Before I buy from there, I'm just wondering if the R4s being sold now still have the spring problem I've been reading about?

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. dmonkey21

Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

United States
    Well, I wasn't really aware that there were new r4s, but you shouldn't worry about the spring problem.

All it is is if you use your r4 and switch out the microsd too much or are rough with it, the spring loader becomes detatched. It is pretty easily fixed if you open up your r4, but most people simply just remove the spring entirely and It really is more convenient w/o it. It has never happened to me, and the only one I know it has happened to is my friend who used to play with ejecting the microsd al the time, s If you're not too rough w/ it you should be fine [​IMG]

3. hybridkit

Member hybridkit GBAtemp Regular

United Kingdom
    Got a new R4 , it doesnt have spring anymore , just slot ur microSD card in [​IMG]

4. Korey
    OP

Newcomer Korey Newbie

United States
    Cool, thanks for the replies. One more question: Does the R4 stick out from the back of the ds or is it flush like regular slot 1 cartridges?

5. OG LOCC NESS

Member OG LOCC NESS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    It's flush!

6. BORTZ

Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

United States
    ya i got mine in december and theirs no spring. btw mines black.

7. Man18

Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    Where would I find one of those new R4s in the US. I have an old one and im fine with it but it has been messing up. I would like to purchase a new one for me and a friend.

8. turtleman

Member turtleman GBAtemp Regular

United States