Hacking "An error has occurred" everytime when downgrading using PlaiSysUpdater.

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,497
Country
Brazil
Hello all!

I have a very annoying error happening on two USA 11.0 N3DS XL NFIRM downgraded to 10.4 with AUTOFIRM.

Everytime I try to downgrade using PlaiSysUpdater (or SafeSysUpdater) I get this "An error has occurred" black screen error a couple of seconds when the title ID 0004003000008f02 shows up. The other titles all installed successfully.

Doing a couple of research I've found this title ID is the Home Menu.

What I have tried so far:
- Changing the SD
- Unzipped the USA N3DS updates folder again to the SD

If I use the same SD to other region consoles it works. Also, the majority of USA N3DS works as I have just downgraded another N3DS XL USA flawlessly using the same SD.

Does anyone have any suggestion?

Thanks!

@Plailect, I'm tagging you for your "awareness" man. Thx for any help!
 
Last edited by mvmiranda,

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4,575
Country
United States
You can't just downgrade from 11.0. That's why you're getting an error. Other stuff such as a hardmod or the DSiWare downgrade has to be done first in order to downgrade from 11.0.

Unless you've done either of these things and you just aren't telling us.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mvmiranda

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,497
Country
Brazil
You can't just downgrade from 11.0. That's why you're getting an error. Other stuff such as a hardmod or the DSiWare downgrade has to be done first in order to downgrade from 11.0.
I'm sorry if I didn't mention, but I'm using AUTOFIRM. ;)

Thx for the feedback though!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

That probably has something to do with your problem.
OP corrected!
I'm using AUTOFIRM, so NFIRM is already 10.4

That's not my issue.

Thx for the feedback though!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

It'd be nice to know what title it's sticking on.
Well, I'll try filming it...

It happens somewhat in the middle of the process and right when a new title appears the error happens...

Bear with me for a sec!
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,497
Country
Brazil
He's using the hardmod method to downgrade. He's using AUTOFIRM.

Sent from my Browser on a New 3DS XL with A9LH
I liked your signature man! LOL

It'd be nice to know what title it's sticking on.
Got it...
The title ID is 0004003000008f02

I have just tried SafeSysUpdater and it fails in the same title ID.

Thx!
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoogie

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,467
Trophies
2
XP
14,166
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
I liked your signature man! LOL


Got it...
The title ID is 0004003000008f02

I have just tried SafeSysUpdater and it fails in the same title ID.

Thx!
Try renaming your Nintendo 3DS folder, then trying again. Just an experiment.

edit: that's home menu by the way, not surprising.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mvmiranda

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,497
Country
Brazil
Try renaming your Nintendo 3DS folder, then trying again. Just an experiment.

edit: that's home menu by the way, not surprising.

Gotcha!
I'll do it this way if it fails again because I'm trying something else.
Reflashed the ORIGINAL 11.0 NAND to the console, used the "format" and messed around a bit with the console, like changing the theme, checking for update and stuff...

Right now I'm redoing from scratch, like reading the NAND and doing the AUTOFIRM again...

Will keep you guys posted.

Thanks!
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,497
Country
Brazil
Alright, I stumbled across this other GBATemp thread (OTPHeler related, here) where a user by name @Shaswati was having a "somewhat similar" issue and @dark_samus3 gave him this advise:
reread my sentence, don't restore a NAND backup, just start normally no restoring, and finish the downgrade... you may ALSO need to delete the home menu extdata

I did exactly like him said and it worked :P
Man, it was so easy, yet I didn't think about it... :(

I had to "adjust" my FreakyHax data as I was using the 10.4 otherapp and the console was now a 9.2 "frankensNAND". So I put a 9.2 otherapp and finished the downgrade :)

Thx for the help!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    UnpredictableEnigma @ UnpredictableEnigma: https://youtu.be/7WDFLJ1Xvq0?t=20