always the first ever! AK2i

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by yzx571, Dec 6, 2008.

Dec 6, 2008

always the first ever! AK2i by yzx571 at 7:33 AM (1,363 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. yzx571
    OP

    Newcomer yzx571 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    China
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    birghtness is now adjustable(by holding the select button then press the volume button). compatiblity to the future firmware updates is unknown.
    other features are the same as AK2.1
    retail price:198RMB about 28 bucks
     
  2. evilhomura89

    Member evilhomura89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Malaysia
    jz wondering izzit totally the same as AK2??
    i wonder firmware updates able to change AK2 into AK2i
     
  3. Tomy Sakazaki

    Member Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    594
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've got my Ak2 DOA with FAT Error and compared, the hardware is different, similar but have some differences on it.
    My question is why they couldn't make it like AK 2.1?
    These are photos from AK2.1 with Green PCB (it's equal to my AK2) Source:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    There are differences in the region of C1, C2 and some tracks below SST chip.
     
  4. Mikef

    Newcomer Mikef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Wow no cheap clips, maybe this one is sturdy.
     
  5. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks to me like they adjusted the layout to just using larger components (likely identical values, sometimes cheaper/easier to source), in this case the capacitors c1/c2.

    And to the person who was wondering, there is a tiny chance that the bootstrap data (in the SST chip) could be flashed from one unit to the other but it is very highly unlikely it would work afterward, or if it did that it would work on a DSi (they have probably changed the code in the ASIC, if not to protect from people doing just that to get that much more for a normal acekard2, then to fix whatever the compatibility issue was - at least that is what I assume since they have gone back to the reprogrammable asic for the dsi version.)
     
  6. billiedekidd

    Newcomer billiedekidd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Indonesia
    @yzx571
    birghtness is now unadjustable. compatiblity to the future firmware updates is unknown.
    other features are the same as AK2.1
    retail price:198RMB about 28 bucks

    um, do u know what site that give price 28 bucks?
    thx [​IMG]
     
  7. Meatbrain

    Newcomer Meatbrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    I saw an article about this earlier today. This calls for some champagne! Oh wait, I'm not 21 yet... Well still, that is one way to bitch-slap Nintendo!
     

Share This Page