All Wii IOSes are useless!!! help please!!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by sadbob9, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009
  1. sadbob9
    OP

    Newcomer sadbob9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on wii menu 4.2U, i really want 3.2 and i just installed ios 249 and cIOS rev 14. I ran ios downgrader and all the ioses installed ok. when i resetted my wii and loaded and region changer it didn't load. NOTHING will load!! the disk channel, WAD manager, only my vc games work. i even tryed launching the hackmii installer and that didn't load.
    My wii menu loads fine, same with hbc but no apps work and disks wont load. preloader works so i might be able to use some installed file on there.

    I've never heard of this and i really need some way to get my IOSes back.

    by the way,i don't think formatting wii system memory is an option because i wont even be able to install hbc again.

    (i get a black screen when something loads so i'm positive it's IOS related)
     
  2. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    Many of the channels etc. that you have installed depend on some of the newer IOS versions.

    If you really want System Menu 3.2, be aware that IOS downgrading is not always a necessary step. Check the Wiibrew.org page on IOS History and check which IOS and version 3.2 used (should still be 60, right?) and use that. All other IOSes should be fine. You can update IOSes without updating the System Menu as long as you don't mess with the one the SM uses.

    Unfortunately, if apps won't run, only Bootmii Boot2 can save you.

    I would admonish that there is no purpose to having System Menu 3.2 - everything that can be done on 3.2 can be done better on 4.0, 4.1, or even 4.2.
     
  3. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    IOS downgrader is a piece of shit.
    all i ever got after using it were bricks (thank god for bootmii). its strongly recommended that you just stick to 4.2, as its pretty much as hackable as SM3.2
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Why did you use IOS Downgrader?

    If you were following a guide, then it is outdated.
     
  5. sadbob9
    OP

    Newcomer sadbob9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    what i need to know is how can i run an app?
    the only things that still run is homebrew the channel and preloader...

    should i use something like an old version of wad manager since i have an old ios?
     
  6. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Try Dopios v8 to tuncha fix your ios's and update them as well you may need the Mod version if you dont have cio249 installed
     
  7. sadbob9
    OP

    Newcomer sadbob9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, and i do have ios 249 installed

    Posts merged

    as i said i just get a black screen so thats not gunna help...
     
  8. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This isn't good. It sounds like you have an LU64 machine, which cannot handle any older versions of IOS, as it's newer hardware isn't compatible with said versions. I'm also assuming you don't have bootmii as boot2, right?

    When you used IOS downgrader, all IOSes from 36 and lower were downgraded to older versions. And these older ersions don't work on your wii.

    So, that means that anything that uses IOS36 or lower will not work. Which means most older games won't work, and you've pretty much homebrew-blocked your wii, as almost all homebrew uses IOS36.

    The only way I know how to fix this, is to use bootmii as boot2 to recover from it, but without that, things get much difficult.

    Do discs load the banner in the Sysmenu?
    If so, maybe try getting a game that runs under IOS53, such as Wii Sports Resort, Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games, or Dinkey Kong Jungle Beat, and try running their system updates (disable any Update-blocking hacks in preloader, then put disc in, then let it do wii system update). If you can do a wii system update from one of these games, then this should overwrite the old IOS with newer ones that are compatible.
     
  9. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    you sure know your stuff Da_letter_A
     
  10. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, da_letter_a is a good lad...
     
  11. sadbob9
    OP

    Newcomer sadbob9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    so could i just do a wii system update?
     
  12. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    just use safe updater to ver 4.1 and your set for life
     

Share This Page