AKAIO and Plugins

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by spark1223, Apr 25, 2010.

Apr 25, 2010

AKAIO and Plugins by spark1223 at 6:28 PM (2,192 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. spark1223
    OP

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    The original Acekard firmware had plug-ins to play mp3s and videos and stuff, what about AKAIO? Any way to use the old plugin to integrate these features? Are there new plug-ins? Or is it impossible to integrate with AKAIO and I have to use a 3rd party homebrew? If thats the case, what beside moonshell is like a media center? (I remember reading how to integrate moonshell with AKAIO, is that safe?)
     
  2. kineticUk

    Member kineticUk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No plugins are gone for good. I never used akaio when they were included so I dunno what they were like anyway but I think it makes perfect sense to concentrate akaio development on what is important.

    You shouldn't have any problems using moonshell and its very good imo (Make sure you have soft reset disabled in akaio though cause the homebrew softreset I heard conflicts with it).

    I don't do the integration thing so I wouldn't know about that (There are indepth topics explaining how it can be done on this site though). I just use akaio and load moonshell when I need to. Its v. convenient as I can soft reset back to akaio afterwards if I need to and it works v.well.
     
  3. spark1223
    OP

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    Where'd you hear soft reset conflicts with it
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Me (well he might've read one of my posts) - I reported it to the AKAIO team on their Forums

    There IS a way around this - use the 'moonshl2_altloader.nds' instead of the normal 'moonshl2.nds' or 'moonshl2_Directboot.nds' & AKAIO works fine with 'Softrest' enabled
     
  5. jak larnak

    Member jak larnak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Not so far
    Country:
    France
    Strange... I use AKAIO 1.6 rc2 and Moonshell 2.10 with the normal "moonshl2.nds" and soft reset enabled and so far I don't have any issues.
     
  6. spark1223
    OP

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    I cant get soft reset to work, no freezes, just doesnt do anything even with the alt_loader.
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it didn't work with 1.6RC1 - so maybe there's been a fix in 'RC2' - or it could be that I was using MS 2.09
     
  8. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    MS2.1 freezes on AKAIO 1.6 RC2 with Soft Reset enabled for me. I'm using DirectBoot though.
     
  9. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Plugins were removed in AKAIO 1.5. Use MoonShell 2.10. Not a big deal, you just have to press a couple more buttons...

    Soft reset fix:

    This is the old method, but it still works.

    1) Go to the root of your SD card, copy akmenu4.nds.
    2) Go to SD:\\moonshl2\resetmse
    3) Paste akmenu4.nds there.
    4) Rename akmenu4.nds to RPGS.nds and replace the existing file if there is one.
    5) Boot MoonShell 2.10 and hit Start --> Return to System Menu. MoonShell 2.10 will boot back into the AKAIO menu.

    There is no difference between this and launching the akmenu4.nds from the MoonShell file browser. Note that each time there is a major AKAIO firmware update, you must repeat this process to update the RPGS.nds in the "resetmse" folder.
     
  10. spark1223
    OP

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Works great now.
     

Share This Page