Gaming AJAX chatroom help!

Whooosh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
277
Trophies
0
Location
IRELAND
Website
Visit site
XP
65
Country
I recently ceated a website with webs. Playpad its a music/gaming website.
Most of its members will come from ppl i met on dsi sites. Because of this im adding a AJAX coded 'dsi compatable' s chatroom
like those found on dsicade and dsipaint.

Because im using the webs site manager this has become quet difficult to install. I found one that looks nice an im thinking of modifying it to fit the dsi screen.
its open source an you can find it HERE. If that one doesnt work or look right i will use THIS ONE.. But i cant get them working so i dont kno.

So any help on installing them would be appreciated. An even better if you have a better simple dsiopera browser compatible script i could use. Also help on coding these to the dsi screens would be VERY much appreciated.


[NOTE: my site currently has little or no members as i made it a few hours ago an havnt told anyone about it yet]
 

playallday

Group: GBAtemp Ghost
Member
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
3,771
Trophies
0
Location
[@[email protected][)@
Website
Visit site
XP
415
Country
Canada
Make a IRC channel.
wink.gif
 
D

Deleted_171835

Guest
You're using Webs? Eww. It sucks.
If you have to use Webs, at least purchase a domain. It doesn't cost that much and it makes your site seem more professional. I advise you fix the grammatical/spelling errors on your site. That will detract some viewers from joining your site.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I think there is an error with the confirmation link email, i registed and did not recive an email. I also sent you a P.M.
 

Whooosh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
277
Trophies
0
Location
IRELAND
Website
Visit site
XP
65
Country
SoulSnatcher said:
You're using Webs? Eww. It sucks.
If you have to use Webs, at least purchase a domain. It doesn't cost that much and it makes your site seem more professional. I advise you fix the grammatical/spelling errors on your site. That will detract some viewers from joining your site.
i will fix the errors ASAP

Ireland1I think there is an error with the confirmation link email, i registed and did not recive an email. I also sent you a P.M.
i will see if i can fix it this minute
 

Whooosh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
277
Trophies
0
Location
IRELAND
Website
Visit site
XP
65
Country
Yes i am making a dsi version of the site on .co.cc later [EDIT: i cheked out freebeehosting like antoligy said and it looks great so i might go with that instead of .co.cc]

but help with the AJAX is appreciated.
 

Whooosh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
277
Trophies
0
Location
IRELAND
Website
Visit site
XP
65
Country
Arctic said:
Go code your own site.

Most of the time using all this free shit looks like crap.


I kno, and thats why im coding the dsi size version from scratch and not using shitty webs. But i am for a fact 1/2 if not a 1/3 of the age of most ppl on this site. So i havnt learned AJAX yet.
 

Snorlax

POSTMODERNISM
Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
588
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Australia
Website
postmodjoel.com
XP
120
Country
Whooosh said:
Arctic said:
Go code your own site.

Most of the time using all this free shit looks like crap.


I kno, and thats why im coding the dsi size version from scratch and not using shitty webs. But i am for a fact 1/2 if not a 1/3 of the age of most ppl on this site. So i havnt learned AJAX yet.
With what I've gathered from your general vibe, I'm recommending that you should just stick with template based host until you learn some proper web-designing languages and skills.
HTML, Javascript and PHP are all languages that can be picked up with simple practice, and they're the basis for more advanced languages.
Try NVU. It's simple, efficient and free. :]

You could also trial/purchase/pirate Adobe's Flash and try designing a website with that. Actionscript is useful for introducing concepts like Object Oriented Programming anyway.
 

Whooosh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
277
Trophies
0
Location
IRELAND
Website
Visit site
XP
65
Country
Snorlax said:
Whooosh said:
Arctic said:
Go code your own site.

Most of the time using all this free shit looks like crap.


I kno, and thats why im coding the dsi size version from scratch and not using shitty webs. But i am for a fact 1/2 if not a 1/3 of the age of most ppl on this site. So i havnt learned AJAX yet.
With what I've gathered from your general vibe, I'm recommending that you should just stick with template based host until you learn some proper web-designing languages and skills.
HTML, Javascript and PHP are all languages that can be picked up with simple practice, and they're the basis for more advanced languages.
Try NVU. It's simple, efficient and free. :]

You could also trial/purchase/pirate Adobe's Flash and try designing a website with that. Actionscript is useful for introducing concepts like Object Oriented Programming anyway.

Thank you for all the info.

I have decided to take some time to learn more webite development skills before i start my site. Then when im ready il create a quality site from scratch.

It took me less than an hour to learn html/xhtml off by heart from w3schools so i will make an effort to learn what i can before i start. mysql and Ajax are what i am most unfamilier with. Also i will learn php as well as i know html. I know realise my 1st major mistake was webs >,< its quick easy and pure crap so a few days ago i changed to freebeehosting. I will let you all know when im finished with my site.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Flame @ Flame:
    ken bro that GDK Mini Handheld is like $130
  • Flame @ Flame:
    around a vita price
  • Flame @ Flame:
    not worth it imo
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably not got my Vita cheaper lol
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Have been thinking about importing
    a 3ds LL but never hacked Luna to it and the Japanese would throw me off
  • Flame @ Flame:
    yeah true
  • Flame @ Flame:
    plus Japanese 3DS LL are guaranteed to have dual IPS screen
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Wouldn't that make it better
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nooo, AMOLED only :cry:
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Let's see how it recovers against my lighter
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    you can region change but i wouldnt bother importing its not worth the hassle
  • Flame @ Flame:
    ken thats what i mean. its better that it has dual IPS screen
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's just the Japanese part that would throw me off haven't modded
    anything since a dsi
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nintendo related anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't think any 3DSes sold now have dual IPS
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Get to the Wii lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    That HDMI adapter is awesome
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like 9 bucks on Amazon and it just works, with gekko cheats it's fantastic, perfectly balanced.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Sure psi I'll just order a 3ds HDMI
    port wait shit
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wii...motion controls...ew.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Yeah who in their right mind wants
    movement in viduha gaems
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Gyro's fine when aiming or looking around, but to build an entire game around it or pointer-based motion, neglecting comfortable and useable standard controls...just no.
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    god i was up at 12 yesterday doing hmw and my fucking wifi went out
    Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim: god i was up at 12 yesterday doing hmw and my fucking wifi went out