ROM Hack Adding Stereoscopic 3d to games that dont have it

fb251

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
62
Country
United Kingdom
Hey there peeps :) I've got a feeling the answer to this will be no but...

Is it possible to add Steroscopic 3d to a 3ds game that doesn't currently have it?

My line of thinking is that... if you can hack and mod games like CGTP7 and Zelda Majoras Mask to change features and essentially create new modes of play, would it be possible to use the same methods to add 3d functionality?

I basically would love to see Persona Q2 with Stereoscopic 3d as it looks like it would be amazing :)

Anyways, if anyone knows anything about this please inform me and let me down gently if it's a no can do :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: yuyuyup

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,501
Trophies
1
XP
6,064
Country
United States
Hey there peeps :) I've got a feeling the answer to this will be no but...

Is it possible to add Steroscopic 3d to a 3ds game that doesn't currently have it?

My line of thinking is that... if you can hack and mod games like CGTP7 and Zelda Majoras Mask to change features and essentially create new modes of play, would it be possible to use the same methods to add 3d functionality?

I basically would love to see Persona Q2 with Stereoscopic 3d as it looks like it would be amazing :)

Anyways, if anyone knows anything about this please inform me and let me down gently if it's a no can do :D
NO CAN'T
 

retrospect

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
570
Country
I bet you can. I'll bet you can even mod the DS firmware to support the 3DS screen resolution and 3D feature, and then patch DS games with the same enhancements. Whether anyone has done that is another question. I expect it would be extremely difficult.

Regarding Persona Q on the 3DS specifically, I think that will depend on whether or not the game is built in a 3D world. I had a look on YouTube and it looks like an unusual world, possibly cell-shaded. If it is cell-shaded it might not look good in 3D, and if it's not cell-shaded then the characters would probably be 2D, like paper cut-outs. The latter might look pretty cool.

I did try out a game modding forum once a few years ago. It was a hostile and aggressive place - not unlike most OSS forums - and I figured it wasn't worth the stress.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fb251

isoboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
1,093
Trophies
0
XP
1,806
Country
United States
Just tried it - wow, it's awesome. Soooo much better than the DS version, even with no sound.

No sound? I have a 60fps native version and someone helped me compile a 30fps version that works in stereoscopic 3d that I have to launch through homebrew launcher. Both with sound.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,180
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,911
Country
United States
Mario 64 on the 3ds is a fun addition.

Yeah, this is a good example, granted its not a DS or 3DS game that never had 3D, but it was a game originally released only in 2D that is now playable in 3D on the 3DS. Yes, clearly it is possible, BUT, it needs to be an exceptional case like Mario 64 where the entire source code has been dumped/leaked and then such features can be implemented into them.

Were the source codes for Sun and Moon leaked? Thought I might have heard that, seems if that is true, that could be the perfect title to try and add 3D to, I imagine it could run well enough on New models of 3DS.

I know GTA 3's source leaked, though I have my doubts that the 3DS could handle playing GTA 3, let alone with 3D effect on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fb251 and fmkid

ital

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
1,215
Trophies
0
XP
2,658
The 3D effect on SM64 is some of the best I've seen of any titles on there, beats official ones with its sense of depth as there are parts where Mario is literally standing outside of the screen.

Once the port gets the minor glitches fixed it will truly be the ultimate version of it thanks to all the modders.
 

retrospect

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
570
Country
No sound? I have a 60fps native version and someone helped me compile a 30fps version that works in stereoscopic 3d that I have to launch through homebrew launcher. Both with sound.

Oh I might have to get some help compiling too. I was just reading about a version that has a touch-screen toggle for the 3D mode. I expect fairly soon someone will make it work with the slider like most retail games do.

Yes, clearly it is possible, BUT, it needs to be an exceptional case like Mario 64 where the entire source code has been dumped/leaked and then such features can be implemented into them.

I don't know if it does... What about the cheats system? Couldn't that be used to add 3D? I recently used a 'cheat' to un-ruin Majora's Mask.
 
Last edited by retrospect, , Reason: 2nd part

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,180
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,911
Country
United States
Oh I might have to get some help compiling too. I was just reading about a version that has a touch-screen toggle for the 3D mode. I expect fairly soon someone will make it work with the slider like most retail games do.

I don't know if it does... What about the cheats system? Couldn't that be used to add 3D? I recently used a 'cheat' to un-ruin Majora's Mask.

A simple cheat isn't going to enable 3D for a game that didn't release with it. We need to be able to alter the coding of the game directly to implement such a feature. The entire source code of Mario 64 was reverse engineered, so naturally mods and the like can and have been implemented into that game including 3D or a minimap, or complete control of the camera, etc. etc. That why Mario 64 is one of very few classic 3D games to have since gotten 3D added in by the fans, as its one of only a few 3D games that we have the source to edit as we please.
 

fb251

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
62
Country
United Kingdom
I
Regarding Persona Q on the 3DS specifically, I think that will depend on whether or not the game is built in a 3D world. I had a look on YouTube and it looks like an unusual world, possibly cell-shaded. If it is cell-shaded it might not look good in 3D, and if it's not cell-shaded then the characters would probably be 2D, like paper cut-outs. The latter might look pretty cool..

Funnily enough Persona Q actually had stereoscopic 3d, where as they left it out in Persona Q2, which uses roughly the same game engine.

Cheers for the positive reply though!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Yeah, this is a good example, granted its not a DS or 3DS game that never had 3D, but it was a game originally released only in 2D that is now playable in 3D on the 3DS. Yes, clearly it is possible, BUT, it needs to be an exceptional case like Mario 64 where the entire source code has been dumped/leaked and then such features can be implemented into them..

This is what I imagined would be the critical issue: source code.

I'm curious about Persona Q2 however because Persona Q1 had stereoscopic 3d, and the sequel did not, though they appear to be using the same engine. I'm wondering if they may have left code in the game. Is there anyway to look?
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,340
Trophies
1
XP
3,388
Country
Canada
Funnily enough Persona Q actually had stereoscopic 3d, where as they left it out in Persona Q2, which uses roughly the same game engine.

Cheers for the positive reply though!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



This is what I imagined would be the critical issue: source code.

I'm curious about Persona Q2 however because Persona Q1 had stereoscopic 3d, and the sequel did not, though they appear to be using the same engine. I'm wondering if they may have left code in the game. Is there anyway to look?
its not code thats to blame. you need to program a left and right picture to run simultaneously which provides field of depth to 3d. nintendo got lazy later on with games leaving out such things.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Redhorse and fb251

retrospect

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
368
Trophies
0
XP
570
Country
Funnily enough Persona Q actually had stereoscopic 3d, where as they left it out in Persona Q2, which uses roughly the same game engine.

Oh if that's the case you might be able to ROM-hack the new game into the old one. I do not know where you'd find help though. The internet is a cynical hostile place. If I were you I'd look for someone who's familiar with this kind of hack and ask them for some key terms and where you can learn more. Key terms are critical for useful Google results.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,180
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,911
Country
United States
its not code thats to blame. you need to program a left and right picture to run simultaneously which provides field of depth to 3d. nintendo got lazy later on with games leaving out such things.
They claimed it was because with the 3D effect on for those later games, that since they were so intensive to begin with that they wouldn't run well enough on 3DS (at least for the old models, makes some sense if you've ever seen how horribly the 3DS ran in X and Y battles with the 3D on).

Also, how in the world would you program in that second display without alterring the game's code? Clearly the code is "to blame," you won't get any proper 3D implementation without editing the games code to allow for that second display to give off the 3D effect.
 
Last edited by MikaDubbz,

NanashiFinal13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
374
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,484
Country
Argentina
Well, you can't add the 3D effect on a game with a simple code, but it may be possible to restore the 3D effect on games that use it partially, with a code. The problem is that the games would run horrible. In fact i manage to restore The Alliance Alive (US Version) 3D effect with a cheat code, but as expected, the game runs pretty bad, 20 fps (on New 3DS), and can drop all the way to 11 fps on the most intense battles. If anyone is interested on try it, you can find it here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/60-fps-patches-cheat-codes-releases-and-discussion.550527/page-26
 
Last edited by NanashiFinal13,

NanashiFinal13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
374
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,484
Country
Argentina
Its also posible to force the 3D slider to work on several games that doesn't support stereoscopic 3D. Of course, that doesn't make the game to display on 3D, but it when you use the slider, the screen appears brighter (it also turn on the IR led), just like when you use the the 3D on games that support it, but it doesn't show the depth effect.
 
Last edited by NanashiFinal13,

elk1007

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2017
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
United States
Only with the source code, since you would have to display a second view port slightly off the original camera angle.
I think it's doable with Mario64 for 3DS and nothing else.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk tempBOT: @ kenenthk is always drunk with tempbot