Hacking Acekard and the DSi

user1690

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Searching...
XP
110
Country
Sorry if this is in the wrong place guys but i noticed something strange, may sound silly but a possible exploit also in the Nintendo DSi handheld.

Every so often when i boot up with the Acekard 2i inserted it will show the AK2i Logo and not Dannt Phantom, of course this results in me getting a "Sorry, a system error occured." message.

But i was wondering, is this an exploit in 1.4 DSi Firmware? Or is the Acekard not seeing my 1.4 Firmware sometimes?

Any suggestions guys?
wacko.gif


-Have a nice day
biggrin.gif
 

penthaler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Location
mystique
XP
67
Country
Dont understand you man,

just search for fix for AK2i - it fixes compatibility with DSi FW 1.4 (which dont allow any kind of flashcard - not only ak2i).

OR DID YOU MAKE THE FIX ALREADY AND STILL NOTHING?
 

user1690

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Searching...
XP
110
Country
penthaler said:
Dont understand you man,

just search for fix for AK2i - it fixes compatibility with DSi FW 1.4 (which dont allow any kind of flashcard - not only ak2i).

OR DID YOU MAKE THE FIX ALREADY AND STILL NOTHING?

I have patched it and stuff, IT WORKS. But every so often, the Acekard 2i logo pops up instead of danny phantom logo, and if i press it i get the whole "Sorry, a system error occured" message, but when i reset, the danny phantom logo appears and acekard works. I have determined my Acekard to be genuine so i know its not fake.

Im ruling it down to the Acekard sometimes not recognising the firmware as 1.4 so it doesnt initialize the nessecary patch or whatever it does to fool the 1.4 firmware.
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
273
Country
Brazil
That shouldn't be the case though, I'm 99% sure when you flash it with the 1.4 update that it shows up as Danny Phantom on all DS', someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
 

Thoob

LOLmonade.
Member
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
1,122
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Scotland
Website
Visit site
XP
104
Country
ZeWarrior said:
That shouldn't be the case though, I'm 99% sure when you flash it with the 1.4 update that it shows up as Danny Phantom on all DS', someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
No, on a normal DS or DSL, it shows the AK2i icon, not Danny Phantom.
 

user1690

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Searching...
XP
110
Country
Well im not blind when i see the AK2i icon on my DSi screen. I would video it but when i check the firmware and go back to DSi menu, the Danny phantom icon reappears.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Nah, he's not talking about a problem. He's talking about a possible exploit.

I faced this "thing" once in a while too.
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,076
Country
afif95 said:
Nah, he's not talking about a problem. He's talking about a possible exploit.

I faced this "thing" once in a while too.
Same here - only 1 or twice though
I've read somewhere (although not 100% where) that on switch on the acekard 'passes' info across to DSi to fool it into thinking it's a real card (i.e Danny Phantom) - but occasionally on switch on, the acekard doesn't pass the correct info across (perhaps it doesn't get enough voltage from Dsi at just the right time, or perhaps there's a timing issue) hence the Ak2 icon appears

Because the AK hasn't fooled the DSi - that's why you get the message of 'switch off & try again'

It's not really 'an exploit in 1.4 DSi Firmware' Or 'the Acekard not seeing 1.4 Firmware sometimes?' more like the 'acekard doesn't work quick enough to fool the DSi'
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Ahhh, that so. I knew it wasn't an exploit, just an error at Acekard's fault. Because if it isn't, then I'm sure the game icon would pop something else (Like maybe light green box or something).

Moreover, if you flash the AK, the logo information is...... placed away. It doesn't detect a firmware.
 

coolness

PSN: Dutch_DarkLord
Banned
Joined
Jun 14, 2009
Messages
2,015
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Rotterdam Bitches!!
Website
dutchmw3.webs.com
XP
334
Country
Netherlands
Thoob said:
ZeWarrior said:
That shouldn't be the case though, I'm 99% sure when you flash it with the 1.4 update that it shows up as Danny Phantom on all DS', someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
No, on a normal DS or DSL, it shows the AK2i icon, not Danny Phantom.

That is not true
i see danny phantom icon on my ds lite
 

Atashi

Out of the Loop
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
176
Trophies
0
Location
Ontario, Canada
Website
planetstephanie.net
XP
94
Country
Canada
The DSI queries game cartridges in a slightly different way than the DS / DSL. The Acekards originally just sent their normal header with the AK logo etc, but the firmware upgrade for the 2i sets it so that if it sees the DSI type query, then instead of returning it's own header info it sends the danny phantom info instead.

I've seen mine revert back to the AK logo etc. on a few occasions. Typically after a crash or a reboot, or when the cart isn't seated properly.

It's not really any kind of exploit and I doubt it means the Acekard is having problems, it's just a little glitch that can crop up now and then. Just cycle the power or remove / replace the cart and everything should be fine.

-Atashi
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,076
Country
coolness said:
Thoob said:
ZeWarrior said:
That shouldn't be the case though, I'm 99% sure when you flash it with the 1.4 update that it shows up as Danny Phantom on all DS', someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
No, on a normal DS or DSL, it shows the AK2i icon, not Danny Phantom.
That is not true...i see danny phantom icon on my ds lite
That's weird... As chance you could post a picture of it as proof ??
I was always under the impression that the Danny Phantom only appears on DSi's
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://i.imgur.com/M6KbNn7.jpeg