Acekard 2i not working on DS Lite

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Sudokian, Mar 3, 2010.

Mar 3, 2010
  1. Sudokian
    OP

    Newcomer Sudokian Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so my DSi is updated to 1.4. I'm trying to do the fix where you update the card with a DS/DSL. When I turn on my DSL it freezes at the health and safety part of the boot. Like in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFdiwr2h35g

    My DSi can read the card. But my DSL freezes with it. How can I fix this?
     
  2. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    What all files do you have on the root of the Micro SD card? I ask because you should only have the update to 1.4 files for either the DSi or DSLite on there. You can have both and choose but I just put the DSi on mine since I was only doing one card. If you have the system files on there too then that may be your issue, if you do not and you just have the update files on there then you may want to try using just the one update file at a time and see if that helps. If that fails then you could have a bad card or you could have corrupted the card. It can happen, there is a warning about it in the updating section on 1.4 for Acekard, though that is unlikely as it rarely happens. Anyways if it is still happening I suggest trying another DSLite unit to make sure it is not a problem with the unit you are using. If that fails then you are out of my league and will have to get help from someone with more expertise in the matter. Hope this helps at least a little. Sorry to hear about your issue. Best of luck to you.

    Sincerely,
    Elmoreas
     
  3. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Likely to be due to crap in the DS Lite Cart Slot which can be solved by cleaning it out with a cotton bud, or the contacts on the AK2i could be marginal which could cause a problem as te DSL is meant to have shorter contacts.

    If you have your DSL set to autoload the cart in slot1, try disabling that and see if it will get to the DS menu with the AK2i inserted.

    It's nothing to with the MicroSD card as it's not getting that far.
     
  4. Sudokian
    OP

    Newcomer Sudokian Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone else have ideas?
     
  5. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No other ideas - but I had exactly the same thing with My DSLite - I had to switch off/on several times before it would get pass the health screen (Sometime I left it 'off' for a couple of hours then it would suddenly start working)

    I did the usual 'card trick' to push the acekard contacts harder onto the DSLite contacts & it did improve slightly (but it STILL locks up occasionally -just not so much) so it does point towards DSLite contact problem (I've had no trouble with acekard in my DSi)

    Can you get a DSPhat from someone to try it out ??
    If it still has trouble then I guess it's the card at fault
     
  6. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One thing I have done which seems to have solved all problems...

    Small piece of paper in the microSD slot.
     

Share This Page