Acekard 2.1

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by x-mah-D, Feb 19, 2009.

Feb 19, 2009

Acekard 2.1 by x-mah-D at 10:13 AM (979 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. x-mah-D
    OP

    Banned x-mah-D Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey i just bought a new acekard 2.1 for a mate , hes not much of a heavy gamer, more like a sponge bob dawn to life player.
    I'm fairly used to flashcards r4, m3 itouch , ds one and datel rubbish..

    So i thought i'd get him an acekard cause they seem to be good and a 2gb microsd

    i was wondering though should i put this AKAIO custom firmware on it, whats the advantages?
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
  3. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    The official AK loader seems to work a bit better than the AKAIO loader - there are instructions on how to put the AK loader into AKAIO though.
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i am curious what you are basing that statement on? the official loader is 6 months behind the revisions norm has added to the akaio loader. all of the 4.14 advantages have been added to the akaio loader, plus 2 dma modes, better hooking methods, more game fixes, updated softreset, etc. norm recently managed to save a few kb from the patching routines as well, which should help.

    there really is no need to use the official at all. so i am again curious what specifics you find to work better and if you have fully tested your findings.

    -another world
     
  5. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the surface the AKAIO doesn't look much different than the official version but after a while playing with it, I thought it was much, MUCH better than the official one.
     
  6. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have an ez 3-in-1, akaio will automatically backup your saves, so i recommend using it just for that. I highly recommend at least adding the official loader into the loader directory however. this is as the official loader seems to work better with some games (for instance, I had bugs with the akaio loader and the ace attorney series of all games [​IMG] ), and you can choose what loader to use in the rom properties menu. you get the best of both worlds that way.
     

Share This Page