About turning a WII-JPN to WII-USA...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by estebangh, Mar 22, 2009.

Mar 22, 2009
  1. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    I got a D2B Japanese Wii which I modchipped with Yaosm, but I'm having lots of problems trying to run USA region patched backups and unpatched ones turning on region override feature.

    So I'm planning to install Wii Hombrew Channel so I can use AnyRegionChanger to turn it 3.2U.

    Will this solve my problems? If I do that, will I still need to override region?
    Or maybe a better solution would be to launch backups from GeckoOS?

    Any constructive help would be appreciated.
     
  2. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    i did this

    use the anyregionchanger mod 5

    then ignore the korean setting, download the 3.2u system menu

    ignore korean settings again, and chose to activate all hacks
     
  3. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And first update your mod chip to USA Region [​IMG]
    Than update your Wii to USA Region

    Else the mod chip will stop working on your console.
     
  4. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Thanks guys!

    So in conclusion: AnyRegion Changer will only enable my Wii software to work with US region updates and firmware (IOS, etc.) and my chip will override region at a hardware level because anyway Wii's drive will always be JAP. Am I right?

    That makes me doubt if a region change will solve my problems, because maybe the cause of Wii not being able to play US region games is a hardware issue.

    I'll post some feedback when I do it.
     
  5. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Wii's drive is region free, what is forcing region is your chip... you need to change the region of the chip either after or before the region change... make sure you can run any region changer both before and after this change.... since incompatible game region and modchip region will cease backups working...
     
  6. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    @WiiCrazy: Thanks for your help

    My plan is as follows:

    Turn on region override to USA because my Twilight Princess copy is US version
    Run Twilight Hack to install Hombrew Channel
    Launch AnyRegion Changer to change my Wii from JPN to US

    Just one question: every time I try to establish my wi-fi connection it asks for a system update should I do it? I'm on 3.2J and don't want to go 3.4J.

    BTW great quote of Tanenbaum...
     
  7. pebls123

    Member pebls123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    no dont update
     
  8. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Then... how I know if my internet connection has been set properly?
     
  9. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    You don't have to say yes to the prompt, it should be setup even if you don't accept the update offer. You can test it using something that use network from homebrew channel... like ftpii or homebrew browser...

    Since you have 3.2J it's easier to setup hbc using installer disc actually... just download the one for NTSC-J and install... change the region using anyregion changer leaving game region as NTSC-J so that your system will continue to work with your current modchip setup...

    And finally change both the region of your modchip and your wii's game region...

    You need to flash the pic with the correct region hex file I guess...

    If you don't have a pic programmer you may use Qleap's anyregion changer which introduces the region free into system menu so that you don't have to change the region of your modchip... but beware that's a software solution, the best is to change the region of the modchip after changing the game region...
     
  10. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Having problems with GeckoOS with or without region override...

    I'll take the risk with AnyRegion Changer
     
  11. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    When you say:

    Are you saying Wii's game region from AnyRegion Changer?
     
  12. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Successfully played Rayman Raving Rabbids... with AnyRegion Changer mod5

    Having problems with Harvest Moon Tree of Tranquility... maybe installing some IOS?
     
  13. estebangh
    OP

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Bad news I spent all day and night...

    I believe that the problem is with the drive... maybe getting my hands on a US drive would solve it?

    Until then... thanks for your support
     

Share This Page