about to install Vista

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by juggernaut911, Nov 1, 2008.

Nov 1, 2008

about to install Vista by juggernaut911 at 9:22 PM (2,931 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I am about to install a vista image I have been working on (Ultimate, homepremium both 32/64 bit and pre activation and a bunch of other goodies). I finished backing up all my junk, but is there anything that I should know about before installing it?

    I have my drivers and other applications on an external HD so I shouldn't have any issues there, should I?
     


  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure they are vista compatible and you should be set.
     
  3. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    why are u installing vista?
     
  4. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ssh
    Let him learn on his own
     
  5. ebdynasty

    Member ebdynasty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would honestly suggest that you wait before installing Vista, I honestly think its a bugged OS with nothing more than better looks and a few extra gadgets.
     
  6. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you should not have any problems. I wouldnt mind a copy of that disc also if you would like to share it on torrent or rapidshare PM me please. Also check out eXPerience vista tweaks.


    Very Long

    <a href="http://forum.retestrak.nl/index.php" target="_blank">http://forum.retestrak.nl/index.php</a>

    Save all text as a text file in notepad then rename to eXPerience.reg and then add to register/execute after installing Vista.
     
  7. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not gonna share it. I WILL right a massive tutorial when I am done. I rewrote a certain activator to make it silent and did alot of custom work. It's called Windows Vista Uber Edition.

    thnx for the reg file! skimmed through that, grabbed what I wanted, already had most of that though.



    What is wrong in Vista, guys?
     
  8. Joey R.

    Banned Joey R. Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Oviedo, Asturias
    Country:
    Spain
    Everything. Nah, it's a joke, really... almost everything [​IMG]

    For starters. I strongly suggest you do not install Vista in your machine, stick to XP. SP1 makes it somewhat better, but it's still crap. XP, on the other hand, is as streamlined as it will ever be -- it's not the pre-SP1 crap anymore. Trust me (us): don't install Vista [​IMG]
     
  9. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also if you only want to use vista for DX10 i would install eXPerience's Tiny Vista rev2 (Search torrents) in a duel boot with Xp sp3.
     
  10. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    After your "Great Experience"
     
  11. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    In words instead of links, what is bad? It's slow? It's got laggy games? what exactly is it?
     
  12. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Skip Vista and go directly to Windows 7. Sure, it's a pre-beta, but works and looks a hell'uva lot better than that former disaster.
     
  13. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I'm considering just making a super Xp image! [​IMG]

    see what you guys did?!
     
  14. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    is the pre-beta public or do u have to arrrrr it?
     
  15. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    You gotta 'Arrr' it, but it's totally worth it if you're just tired of Vista.
     
  16. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Vista is only marginally slower than XP. I'm talking about 100-200 points in benchmarking, this is assuming people who actually did try to use Vista had a computer that is at least build in the past 2 years and aren't just talking out of their asses. With the 64-bit version, you can only use WHQL signed drivers, so if you have any compatibility issues it's going to show up. In addition, 64-bit is pretty much worthless if you are running a computer with less than 4 gigs. I'd highly recommend integrating SP1 into the install if you haven't done so already. I'm going to take it that you're at least some what competent with a computer since you're going around with a streamlined version of Vista, so really there shouldn't be any problems.

    Also, I'd be interested in what the specs are of the computer you're installing Vista to.
     
  17. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well, I have 1 GB of RAM running a 64 bit version of Windows Vista and it runs like clockwork compared to the old 32 bit one I used to run, so that doesn't really make a difference.
     
  18. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thnx for the confidence jiggah!!

    specs:
    e4500 @ 2.2
    8800GT 512MB
    2GB ram
    1280x1024 display

    I'm upgrading @ christmas though!!
     
  19. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guys he didn't want a topic made of useless complains about vista. He was wanting to know if he is all set not if he should install it or not.

    Cut the crap everyone.

    Anyways, Just make sure your hardware can run of vista and since you have a back up you are all set. I look foward to the long ass tutorial.
     
  20. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thnx. I have like 60GB of media, drivers, pirated apps, AV and firewall, fire fox and thunderbird... missing any essentials?

    I don't forward to writing it...

    I'll make 2 versions though, one with just instructions, but one with my custom/modified scripts and tweaks (the activator isn't exactly legal...)

    So a Vista Uber edition.pdf and a Vista Uberly Uber edition.pdf

    good names?
     

Share This Page