A Strange Black Ops Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by GTbigT, Nov 13, 2010.

Nov 13, 2010

A Strange Black Ops Problem by GTbigT at 2:47 AM (5,931 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. GTbigT
    OP

    Member GTbigT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Problem: Black Ops lags in multiplayer, so bad sometimes that the game isn't playable.
    My Setup: USB Loader GX using IOS249(rev.20) and playing off of a Passport 320 gig hard drive. System Menu 4.2U. Latest HBC

    - I have isolated the problem down to Black Ops and the hard drive (usb)

    - The game works fine with NO lag whatsoever when I play it off of a DVD-r with Neogamma, which is also using IOS249(rev.20)

    - When I play Modern Warfare Reflex off of the hard drive through USB Loader GX, it play fine with no lag in multiplayer

    - The problem is not my router or my ISP, because the game doesn't lag when played off of a DVD

    - I have tried playing through Configurable USB Loader and Neogamma (mounting WBFS), but still get lag, so it isn't USB Loader GX's fault either

    - I have tried 3 ISO's, 2 NTSC (scrubbed and un-scrubbed) and 1 PAL, all of which have the same lag problem

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     


  2. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    nm i read wrong
     
  3. scof

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    Same problem, same configuration, same Hard Disk.

    I think i'll buy it, or try my 8GB usb stick.. When I'll be back from my village :-/
     
  4. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Then stop your downloads.

    Pip'
     
  5. arodey

    Member arodey GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    There you go T, its that simple. I can't believe you didn't think of that already!!!
     
  6. GTbigT
    OP

    Member GTbigT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    IK, slap me hard for being such a stupid imbecile.

    ANYWAY, I did get the problem solved. I used pimpmywii to update all my ios's and the problem disappeared like magic.
    I'm using CFG Usb Loader using IOS224 mload
     
  7. fullstrength

    Newcomer fullstrength Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    can anyone else confirm that this pimpmywii will actually resolve online lag for this game...I have the same problem
     
  8. GTbigT
    OP

    Member GTbigT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Fullstrength, I had tried downloading new IOS's, new router firmware, different usb loaders, different ISO's, all kinds of different loading options, but nothing worked.

    I DID, however, get the game to play without that lag-type deal when I played it off of a dvd-r using neogamma. So I knew that it wasn't my ISP, router or ISO. It had something to do w/ communications between the Wii and the hard drive. I used ModMii to update all the IOS's I had, but it still didn't work. THEN I did the same thing w/ pimpmywii, and it worked. I can't tell you exactly which IOS pimpmywii updated that fixed the problem, but I can tell you that it solved my problem, and fixed my friend's problem playing a retail copy on a modded wii.

    So even though the name of the program is kind of off-putting, it worked and therefore has my recommendation. Use it according to it's directions of course, because any IOS tampering can be potentially dangerous.

    BTW I'm playing it using CFG USB Loader using IOS224 mload. So if you don't want to go through with pimpmywii, download the newest 224 and see where that takes you.

    Hope this helps.
     
  9. EeZeEpEe

    Member EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing your using IOS224 mload base 57 right?
     
  10. GTbigT
    OP

    Member GTbigT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I believe so. All the IOS's I have now were downloaded using pimpmywii. I haven't downloaded anything new since running pimpmywii
     
  11. hoosier_d

    Newcomer hoosier_d Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to, "Pimp my wii" but most of what I was needed to download failed for whatever reason.
     
  12. fullstrength

    Newcomer fullstrength Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    everything that pimpmywii downloaded failed its install as well....no idea why...i used modmii and grabbed all their latest iso's instead....not sure what's with pimpmywii, but it doesn't like my wii
     
  13. _Krank_

    Newcomer _Krank_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    No it won't. That is absolute non-sense and will not help with lag issues.
     
  14. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It worked for me. The "lag" or whatever it was, significantly decreased when i switched from CIOSrev20 249[57] to hermes v5 224[57]

    Pimp My Wii also fixed the blue screen 002 error i was getting with my retail disc.
     
  15. _Krank_

    Newcomer _Krank_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you heard of coincidence? Changing cIOS will not help the lag issue. I have tested this thoroughly.

    The only reason it helped with the 002 error is because it updated or installed IOS57 which can be achieved many ways.
     
  16. hoosier_d

    Newcomer hoosier_d Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    When I got off work I tried to, "Pimp my wii" again and every single download worked.............however, it still will not load black Ops which sticks on the loading screen............STILL.
     
  17. GTbigT
    OP

    Member GTbigT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    What loader are you using? The loading screen issue is a common problem for modded wii's.

    And Krank, we're not talking about standard connection lag, so you can spare us your "input", if you've got nothing helpful to add.
     
  18. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which CIOS are you using to boot the game, and which usb loader are you using?
     
  19. _Krank_

    Newcomer _Krank_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Makes no difference if it's "standard connection lag" (whatever that is supposed to mean...your lag is special I guess). Running pimpmywii will not help at all with any online or connection issues.
     
  20. annluan

    Newcomer annluan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Brazil
    from what ive read, the lag issue is not happening ONLY with wii users. PS3 and PC online gamers are suffering from it too.

    The thing is... For the PC, they already released a patch that corrects the online lags. Soon there will be one for PS3. But what about the wii? IF it is an original bug, I think it cant be patched.

    :T
     

Share This Page