A question about partitions

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fedex14, May 13, 2009.

May 13, 2009

A question about partitions by Fedex14 at 12:26 AM (2,212 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, I'm really interested on all thesew usb loader stuff but i only have an WD My Passport 250GB hdd (will it work?) and i dont want to lose everything...

    can i like, assign an 50 GB (to say sth) partition and format that in the WBS filesystem? and the loader uses that one and doesnt touch my stuff on the 200 gb partition...


    thanks

    bye
     


  2. sleeepy2

    Newcomer sleeepy2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep. That right you can do that.
     
  3. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure that before you shorten a partition you erase all your data from the drive! Back it up!
     
  4. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    but that's what i DONT want to do, i dont want to erase anything, i just want to have 2 partitions: one with my data, the other with the wii games. I dont have space for any backups and i cant afford another HDD.

    also, can i put scrubbed isos so that they are smaller sized? like AC from 4.7 GB to 500MB?

    thanks bye
     
  5. psiguy

    Newcomer psiguy Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Just use partition magic or other similar software. Lets you shrink and keep data.
     
  6. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    It's never a good idea to shrink a apartition that has data on it. It's possible it could render many of your files useless, or even corrupt the drive. If you want to do it go ahead, but you risk anything that can happen.
     
  7. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    but ive shrunk the partition in vista of my local drive when making a 2nd partition to install mac osx lol and nthng happened. Even though i could try, if everything went fine, it would work wouldnt it?¿
     
  8. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    I suppose if you've done it it should work, but I've had bad experiences...
     
  9. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    but i mean, supposing i shrink partition and create another one, and my data is safe, will it work on my wii having two partitions?

    and what about the scrubber thingy?

    thanks, bye
     
  10. ineedhelpbad

    Newcomer ineedhelpbad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Chicago IL USA
    Country:
    United States
    it should work and games are automatically scrubbed when they are added to the drive.
     
  11. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep! You can have 2 partitions! And when you put your games on the WBFS partition (you know what WBFS is, right?), they are automatically scrubbed!
     
  12. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    yeah i know what it means WBFS

    thanks for all the help, you are great guys

    another thing, should i create an image of my data first? the prob is that i dont think i have got that much space for my backup, so should i risk it and shrink the partition?
     
  13. psiguy

    Newcomer psiguy Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    I have rarely had any problems with partition magic, only twice has it messed up my partition. If you don't have enough space for all your data either backup the really important stuff, or risk and don't backup. It's your data so I am not gonna tell you what to do.

    You could also try to find online storage for your data.
     
  14. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    but i could also shrink the partition with vista's disk management? i did it that way before but not with the external HDD, but with the local disk and nothing bad happened to the data...

    online storage? its about 100GB of data, how am i supposed to upload all that stuff onto the internet?
     
  15. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    G2K has a point if you have stuff you really cannot lose. Be sure and back it up first if possible. If your not used to resizing partitions and a little nervous backup. more than likely you won't have a problem but better safe than sorry [​IMG]
     
  16. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    yeah i know but i havent got that much space for a backup...

    once i do this, can i transfer the isos through the pc? or do i really need a dvd to put it inside the drive and rip it from there?

    if i transfer brawl, will it scrub the second layer or will i be able to play it full DVD9?

    one more thing, do i need 4.0 or with 3.2 im fine?

    bye thanks 4 everything [​IMG]
     
  17. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    1. Yes you can transfer your ISO's with WBFS Manager 3 via your PC.
    2. You can rip your originals to your HD via your Wii including brawl
    3. Your backup burned games with your Wii.
    4. 3.2 is fine I am on 3.2 and no probs.
     
  18. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    so an original game can be ripped by the wii? so i just put the legit copy of brawl and voila!???

    which games are known to have issues appart from excite truck?

    with 65 GB should i be good? i ve got like 20 games but potentially are like 30 am i fine?

    should i format the partition on the wii or with WBFS manager?
     
  19. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    I would recommend using WBFS Manager on your PC. When I tried on my Wii it decided to wipe out my partition with Windows files on it. On PC you should be able to accuratly choose which is the right partition.
     
  20. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    ok thanks a lot.


    which usb loader do people use/recommend?

    if i get tired of this, how do i format my partition to expand the other one and "join" them again together?
     

Share This Page