Hacking A question about partitions

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
Hi, I'm really interested on all thesew usb loader stuff but i only have an WD My Passport 250GB hdd (will it work?) and i dont want to lose everything...

can i like, assign an 50 GB (to say sth) partition and format that in the WBS filesystem? and the loader uses that one and doesnt touch my stuff on the 200 gb partition...


thanks

bye
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
but that's what i DONT want to do, i dont want to erase anything, i just want to have 2 partitions: one with my data, the other with the wii games. I dont have space for any backups and i cant afford another HDD.

also, can i put scrubbed isos so that they are smaller sized? like AC from 4.7 GB to 500MB?

thanks bye
 

G2K

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
258
Trophies
0
Location
Cambridge, Onatrio
XP
117
Country
Canada
psiguy said:
Just use partition magic or other similar software. Lets you shrink and keep data.
It's never a good idea to shrink a apartition that has data on it. It's possible it could render many of your files useless, or even corrupt the drive. If you want to do it go ahead, but you risk anything that can happen.
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
but ive shrunk the partition in vista of my local drive when making a 2nd partition to install mac osx lol and nthng happened. Even though i could try, if everything went fine, it would work wouldnt it?¿
 

G2K

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
258
Trophies
0
Location
Cambridge, Onatrio
XP
117
Country
Canada
Fedex14 said:
but ive shrunk the partition in vista of my local drive when making a 2nd partition to install mac osx lol and nthng happened. Even though i could try, if everything went fine, it would work wouldnt it?¿

I suppose if you've done it it should work, but I've had bad experiences...
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
but i mean, supposing i shrink partition and create another one, and my data is safe, will it work on my wii having two partitions?

and what about the scrubber thingy?

thanks, bye
 

G2K

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
258
Trophies
0
Location
Cambridge, Onatrio
XP
117
Country
Canada
Fedex14 said:
but i mean, supposing i shrink partition and create another one, and my data is safe, will it work on my wii having two partitions?

and what about the scrubber thingy?

thanks, bye

Yep! You can have 2 partitions! And when you put your games on the WBFS partition (you know what WBFS is, right?), they are automatically scrubbed!
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
yeah i know what it means WBFS

thanks for all the help, you are great guys

another thing, should i create an image of my data first? the prob is that i dont think i have got that much space for my backup, so should i risk it and shrink the partition?
 

psiguy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
44
Website
Visit site
XP
28
Country
Canada
Fedex14 said:
yeah i know what it means WBFS

thanks for all the help, you are great guys

another thing, should i create an image of my data first? the prob is that i dont think i have got that much space for my backup, so should i risk it and shrink the partition?

I have rarely had any problems with partition magic, only twice has it messed up my partition. If you don't have enough space for all your data either backup the really important stuff, or risk and don't backup. It's your data so I am not gonna tell you what to do.

You could also try to find online storage for your data.
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
but i could also shrink the partition with vista's disk management? i did it that way before but not with the external HDD, but with the local disk and nothing bad happened to the data...

online storage? its about 100GB of data, how am i supposed to upload all that stuff onto the internet?
 

jarock

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
304
Trophies
0
XP
49
Country
Fedex14 said:
but i could also shrink the partition with vista's disk management? i did it that way before but not with the external HDD, but with the local disk and nothing bad happened to the data...

online storage? its about 100GB of data, how am i supposed to upload all that stuff onto the internet?

G2K has a point if you have stuff you really cannot lose. Be sure and back it up first if possible. If your not used to resizing partitions and a little nervous backup. more than likely you won't have a problem but better safe than sorry
blink.gif
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
yeah i know but i havent got that much space for a backup...

once i do this, can i transfer the isos through the pc? or do i really need a dvd to put it inside the drive and rip it from there?

if i transfer brawl, will it scrub the second layer or will i be able to play it full DVD9?

one more thing, do i need 4.0 or with 3.2 im fine?

bye thanks 4 everything
biggrin.gif
 

jarock

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
304
Trophies
0
XP
49
Country
Fedex14 said:
yeah i know but i havent got that much space for a backup...

once i do this, can i transfer the isos through the pc? or do i really need a dvd to put it inside the drive and rip it from there?

if i transfer brawl, will it scrub the second layer or will i be able to play it full DVD9?

one more thing, do i need 4.0 or with 3.2 im fine?

bye thanks 4 everything
biggrin.gif

1. Yes you can transfer your ISO's with WBFS Manager 3 via your PC.
2. You can rip your originals to your HD via your Wii including brawl
3. Your backup burned games with your Wii.
4. 3.2 is fine I am on 3.2 and no probs.
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
so an original game can be ripped by the wii? so i just put the legit copy of brawl and voila!???

which games are known to have issues appart from excite truck?

with 65 GB should i be good? i ve got like 20 games but potentially are like 30 am i fine?

should i format the partition on the wii or with WBFS manager?
 

G2K

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
258
Trophies
0
Location
Cambridge, Onatrio
XP
117
Country
Canada
I would recommend using WBFS Manager on your PC. When I tried on my Wii it decided to wipe out my partition with Windows files on it. On PC you should be able to accuratly choose which is the right partition.
 

Fedex14

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
255
Trophies
0
XP
646
Country
Argentina
ok thanks a lot.


which usb loader do people use/recommend?

if i get tired of this, how do i format my partition to expand the other one and "join" them again together?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    linuxares @ linuxares: I run sysnand personally since I got 3 switches :P