A Hypothetical Question

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Hyoi, Jan 23, 2010.

Jan 23, 2010

A Hypothetical Question by Hyoi at 10:21 AM (1,691 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Hyoi
    OP

    Newcomer Hyoi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    With the the DSi released in the past year or so and the iPlayer (along with the to be released SuperCard DSTwo) finally allowing us to run GBA games without the need of slot 2, the amount of potential of the DS has been increasing. When the get the DSi's code cracked, alongside the iPlayer it could potentially run with 32MB of RAM and clock at a total of 766MHz, just passing up the wii's Broadway processor.

    With this major hardware upgrade, and in prime conditions, do you think it would be possible to successfully emulate a Nintendo 64 on a DS console? At that point, the DS would be four to five times more powerful that the N64. Also, unless I was misinformed, the PSP 1000 can emulate a good amount of commercial N64 games at near full speed with the same amount of RAM and less processing power. Obviously a homebrew app with that much work would take years to develop, but i'm speaking speculatively.
    If I had to guess, I think it might be possible even if it would run ridiculously slow, but I don't know much about the software of the DS, so who knows.

    (Also if you didn't notice, i'm new here. Hopefully my first post tuned out all right.)
     
  2. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes we hate you [​IMG]
     
  3. Hyoi
    OP

    Newcomer Hyoi Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Oh boy, attention [​IMG]
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Speaking entirely hypothetically, it probably is possible to emulate the N64 to at least a certain degree, yes. I wouldn't expect it to run on the DSi alone, so it would have to require some slot-1 cart like the iPlayer or DS:TWO, preferably something even more powerful. Even then, I wouldn't expect anything running at full speed. It would take an amazing amount of time by someone highly skilled, of which very few people exist in the DS homebrew scene.

    So is it possible? Sure. At fullspeed? Probably not. Likely to ever happen? Not very.
     
  5. Davess

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    Fullspeed No.

    Some computers can emulate Nintendo 64 well,

    or you could buy the dam system
    There 15 dollars at a pawn shop.
     
  6. SgtThom

    Member SgtThom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    You might as well port n64 games to the Ds.The processor is to slow to emulate the n64.
     
  7. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah... I imagine a world without hypothetical situations. [​IMG]
     
  8. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    There would be "Button Trouble!" and I chucked my iPlayer in my printer's SD slot which has 32mb of RAM and it emulates the N64 perfectly so it should work.
     
  9. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait up there. There was no need for that. The guy had actually thought about what was needed before he asked, fair enough it really isn't possible but he thought about how much computing power is needed to emulate N64 although I do think his processor estimation is a bit too high. he didn't just go "Hai, the DS can run games that look as good as N64, is there an N64 emulator for it?"
     
  10. eSPy

    Member eSPy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    i agree..he did some of the research. and this topic actually involves some kinda discussion
     
  11. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    I was just joking, sure we may have a goodish processor but what about the RAM and the button mapping?
     
  12. Davess

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    Agreed, Its to sloaw
     
  13. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    32mb RAM, my PSP can run N64 emulation ok but it is an entirely different memory access so I dunno its most likely as the previous posters have said: Possible? Yes but not at full speed Probable? Not a chance in hell

    I was really just annoyed that you seemed to be mocking him.
     
  14. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    My life is like that everyday [​IMG]
     
  15. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    I love you.
     
  16. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    WTF? [​IMG] Anyway I know the PSP can emulate an N64 but I could only get M64 working on it at a speed I want and that was a while ago.
     
  17. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    here's a thought - emulate some of the buttons on the touch screen - & if you use it on a DSi XL then the buttons should be big enough for people like me with big thumbs
     
  18. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    Maybe, we could put some of the buttons not used as frequently on the Touch Screen.
     

Share This Page