A HG/SS fix for NO$GBA

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Chase-san, Sep 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 11, 2009

A HG/SS fix for NO$GBA by Chase-san at 1:22 AM (16,323 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    This code when entered into ARDS Raw mode will allow you to bypass that black screen you get in NO$GBA. To my knowledge it doesn't fix anything else. So if Gamefreak added any other checks that NO$GBA fails the game may still freeze up.

    EDIT:
    NOTE: NEW STUFF
    Use these instead for a more stable game!

    These might make R4, M3 and Cyclo work better to.

    Basic Freeze Fix
    Code:
    020DD9E4 E1A00000
    My blog:
    http://www.csdgn.org
    My friends!
    http://www.projectpokemon.org
     


  2. Kyo Wolf

    Newcomer Kyo Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this DOES work with getting past the black screen, with Soul Silver as well. Thank you, All I was able to do was keep trying and then hear newbark music in the background. Now...If only there was a fix for no$gba saving problem...didnt know it'd freeze when no$gba tried to save as well.
     
  3. LinkX9

    Newcomer LinkX9 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, especially with Heart Gold which is a really big problem.
     
  4. Kyo Wolf

    Newcomer Kyo Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, so unless you leave your computer on all the time or use other cheats, I don't really think you can get that far with this. And the other patches aren't for emulators I dont think so...to wait again...
     
  5. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    What version of no$gba are you using? I will see if I can fix that as well.
     
  6. Kyo Wolf

    Newcomer Kyo Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I used no$gba 2.6 when I played it. If you can fix it it will be greatly appreciated, seeing as how I can't even get to Violet city. (I got to silver battle and going back to prof. elm on DeSmuMe but when you go back to Route 30 whether you fight the first or second youngster, it doesnt freeze but the pokeballs next to them start spinning and it never stops.) So I would greatly appreciate it if you could fix this.
     
  7. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I just came up with a better code, it does the same as the last one. Also it fixes it 'retro actively' meaning oh no, you hit a black screen and realize you forgot to turn on the code. Use this code and you can still turn it on after its already a black screen and it will work. Otherwise it does the same thing as the last code does.

    Code:
    020DD9DC E0200000
     
  8. Kyo Wolf

    Newcomer Kyo Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yey, no more restarting and going through the loong oak tutorial again. This will be useful!
     
  9. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Also I tried to save with 2.6 normal with that code and it works fine.. :/

    I cannot reproduce the problem so I do not know. I am trying hard to try and get it to freeze but so far I am having no luck with it. Its strange I want the game to freeze so I can try and fix the problem!
     
  10. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    New new stuff now! These are hacks I just made, these replace the current one and it should fix additional freezes when saving and when entering and exiting! Those gamefreak people were very sneaky adding two checks inside the same area!

    NEW STUFF
    Use these instead for more stable game!

    CSDGN Branch NOP Hacks
    Code:
    020DD9E4 E1A00000
    020D3820 E1A00000
    THESE MAY FIX GAMES ON R4 and CYCLODS!!!!!!!!

    My blog:
    http://www.csdgn.org
    My friends!
    http://www.projectpokemon.org
     
  11. Cuber

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do I put those 2 lines in as the same cheat, or are they separate?

    Good work btw. [​IMG] ^^
     
  12. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I guess it may not work 100% on cyclods. I have found another freeze (maybe?) at the start of a battle but I cannot find it in the code, so I am very confused (and tired). I will look more tomorrow and see if I can fix that one. (if it is actually a problem and not a one time error due to bumping my ds or something).
     
  13. Kyo Wolf

    Newcomer Kyo Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it and sad to say, it still doesnt fix my saving problem. I tried it both with codes seperated and put together, so I dont know what I'm doing wrong...
     
  14. Cuber

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are you using? I know it sounds dumb but... you are turning it on right? >.>;

    Or! Does what you use let you choose AR or Codebreaker? I found they work when you put it as AR and Raw.
     
  15. dimmidice

    Member dimmidice GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    Belgium
    thank you SOMUCH man. i've been using it for a while now (since yesterday) 0black screens
     
  16. Nekrosses

    Member Nekrosses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Ireland
    Don't need it for Cyclo
    It auto bypasses anti piracy
     
  17. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Most saving problems are due to using a non standard rom (patched or translated rom). Used together with NO$GBA 2.6 you should have no trouble playing the game most the way through with just these 2 codes on.

    All things considered a translated rom should be OK, but make sure its clean, no other patches if your going to play on NO$GBA.

    Also, please tell me where it freezes on NO$GBA 2.6, telling me about freezes on flash carts make it very hard to make more codes since they are different!
     
  18. dimmidice

    Member dimmidice GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    Belgium
    my friend has a cyclods, he cant get it to work. not even with codes on.
    oh and my previous post was about both no$gba2.6 and acekard
    on no$gba i have an occasional sprite dissapearance (they turn into a blur) but if i go into a door its fixed. and a couple freezes (i'm walking and the edge of the screen turns black, if you try to enter a door rom image crashes)
    on acekard i only got freeze thing, about the same as no$gba. except on acekard it just freezes, even without going in the door.
    edit, i got no$gba 2.6a
     
  19. Chase-san
    OP

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing that happens on my CycloDS, I do no know why yet, but I want to. [​IMG]
    After awhile it just freezes up for no reason.
     
  20. dimmidice

    Member dimmidice GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,463
    Country:
    Belgium
    man, you're awesome really
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page