8800 gt and gts

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Digeman, Feb 6, 2008.

Feb 6, 2008

8800 gt and gts by Digeman at 6:32 AM (1,213 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Digeman
    OP

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well here's the deal, i ordered a new gfx card since my old one broke. And since the only thing left on my computer that wasn't maxed out was the gfx card i thought to myself that i would go all out. After about a week after i've ordered the gfx card the store calls me and sais everything is done and such (they built it in for me). Now i'm super excited so i rush to the store, i get there and then i realise....he had accidentally ordered a gts....Now if i remember correctly then gts is actually worse than gt is it not?

    So i got a 8800 gts (Calibre version) with like 2 cooling things on it (2 fans..or was it 1 fan and something else...dun remember) and i'm wondering...is the gts version actually worse, and if so then how much worse? What will be better in "the long run"? And the only downside with getting a gt is that i gotta wait another week untill that one arrives...but i don't wanna return my current gfx card if it actually is better [​IMG]

    So what do you guys think i should do? Any advice is really apreciated, and please do be serious when answering since i put 300 euros into this card and i don't want it to go to waste [​IMG]
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    The NEW GTS is better than the GT, but only marginally. If he isn't charging you a whole lot extra for his mistake, then I'd just take what I got.
     
  3. Digeman
    OP

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh [​IMG] But how do i know which one i've got?
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

    Should give you some info on your GPU.

    I think the new one also only has 512 MB of onboard memory. The old GTS came in two flavors, a 320 and 640 version.
     
  5. Digeman
    OP

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Sweden
    Mine has only 512 mb! [​IMG] Thanks a lot man! You've made my day! [​IMG]
     
  6. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    The old 640mb version is still inferior to the new 512mb version [​IMG]
     
  7. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Ze: amount of RAM doesn't make or break a Video Card.
     
  8. mojoex

    Member mojoex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    depending on what resolution you run at, it does. The new 512mb GTS beats both the GT and the old GTS by a long shot, and it overclocks a beast.
    with a decent overclock you'll get better performance than a GTX.
     
  9. Pigiot

    Member Pigiot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    A decent overclock would possibly require third party cooling... now thats a hassle..
     
  10. mojoex

    Member mojoex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no.
    it doesn't.

    the new gts cooler is inaudible at 60%. idles at 45c, loads at 60c.
    thats with a maxed out overclock.
     
  11. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Never said it did. [​IMG] New G92 Architecture is what gave it such a huge performance boost.
     

Share This Page