1. zomtek

    OP zomtek Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey Folks ,

    i just wanted to post my experience got myself a PS4Pro Cuh 7116b 2 Days ago . The Console was on 5.55 :) . I went up to 6.72 and ran into a lot of stability issues , KP and crashes . So i decied to go up to 7.02 i mean its kinda annyoing to get the JB loaded but if its up its really stable way more than 6.72.
     
    Raziel_vip, cearp and KiiWii like this.
  2. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,119
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The main benefit of 7.02 is the lack of need to reboot between failed attempts :P
     
    cearp likes this.
  3. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,427
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    I just need to install the 7.02 pup and all installed content will still exist I'm assuming?
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  4. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,894
    Country:
    United States
    yes
     
    cearp likes this.
  5. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm still at 6.72, but sick of KP, 7.02 never gets KP right? Only thing annoying is the memory issues, but as a median value, how many tries you have to retry before getting successful exploit?
     
  6. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,119
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Afaik you don’t have to keep trying because it just OOM alerts, you click ok, it tries again. In unfortunate events that it does KP, you reboot, start again.

    On 6.72 it’s semi stable Webkit: unstable kex that means trying over and over. 7.02 unstable Webkit is partially solved by auto retrying, but you still have unstable kernel. Atleast 6.72 has cache and restmode hen ;)

    7.02 restmode is very hit and miss and yes: it still KP’s.
     
    schatzi24 and peteruk like this.
  7. WarSpaz

    WarSpaz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Sweden
    I would not update to 7.02 at the moment. The last time I ran hen on my 6.72 was like 6 weeks ago. Using rest mode in-between uses works like a charm, at least for me. Before I started using rest mode I had like 1 KP from about 25 boots. Using psphive host cached.
    Although, from what I understand different hosts work well for some and worse for others.

    Skickat från min ONEPLUS A6003 via Tapatalk
     
  8. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    I never leave the console on rest mode, just want a console which doesn't turn off based on failure kernel exploits, 6.72 is just too much
     
  9. grabman

    grabman GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    ur right i mean my 20tb on 6.72 it's wild

     
  10. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,894
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 5.05, and I never leave mine on rest mode either for two reasons. first, I don't play the system at all. second, my hdmi switchers are cheap Chinese ones, so sometimes they don't switch over if I'm on rest mode, and the second switcher, the one my ps4 is on, I can't get at it as it's behind the entertainment center.
     
  11. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    On rest-mode, the console is still running and fans are on, better way for disaster on your console, also ps4 is very known for having a very poor cooling system, a power surge on something similar, just bin the console, issue is that is a 5.05, mine came with 5.55, had no change than to upgrade to 6.72, tried almost every hosts, all sooner or later will have KP
     
  12. grabman

    grabman GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    this is true but i don't feel it is unique to 6.72 i mean i have used 4.05 and 4.55 and 5.05 and 7.02 and they all kp when attempting to exploit. Some kp less than others.

    So what I did was utilize usb for storage and laughed and enjoyed my ps4 for several years across all the various firmwares. It's about how you use the ps4. kp is something that will happen when attempt to exploit the console. It's just part of the way the exploit works. But once exploits a console on 6,72 is very enjoyable. I think you are doing something wrong frankly. Maybe faulty hd or usb hd who knows. Bad pc being used to extract files. Could be alot of things. But what my collection proves is 6.72 is def able to be played on if you have proper equipment. TOODLES!
     
    Mo Poge likes this.
  13. Mo Poge

    Mo Poge GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    How often do you run into "rebuilding your database"/corrupt hard drive messages when kp's occur, if at all? That's the thing that scares me the most is having to rebuild a multi-TB hard drive.

    I had to rebuild a 5TB external USB after losing power to my house with a legit online PS4. Re-downloading everything was a pain in the ass. I suppose with a JB PS4 I would just have to transfer files and not have to use my ISP to download, but still not a pleasant scenario.
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,894
    Country:
    United States
    Never had that happen myself.
     
  15. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    Which host for 6.72 is stable? or better which host is fastest for 7.02? I have no hope on 6.72
     
  16. grabman

    grabman GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    i almost never have it happen now. Look i am just going to repeat this till it sinks in people. I have been running at BIG DATA for months. USB storage is the way. Think about this logically.

    if i were rebuilding this filesystem on a regular basis my channel would show gaps. On a personal level I would be beyond frustrated from rebuilding something so large. I have the coverage recorded for reasons. So people do not have to live in fear. So they can make logical decisions based on science. Not speculation. Which frankly is what I see alot about in terms of 6.72.

    my 6.72 is running a filesystem larger than most corporations brilliantly. Those who say otherwise are simply in denial.
     
    Mo Poge likes this.
  17. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    grabman,

    Which host you use for your 6.72 system?
     
    Mo Poge likes this.
  18. randy_w

    randy_w Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2021
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    Just saw this post and I think it's a bit misleading so I registered to share my experience with 7.02 here.
    Updated my 6.72 phat console to 7.02 a few days ago. It used to be pretty stable on 6.72 with rest mode and stuff, but on 7.02 it's a total different story for me. On average it takes 10-20 retries and 1-2 reboots to launch the web exploit, and at least 7 out of 10 success web exploits cause either instantly kp, failed to launch hen and reboot message, or unstable hen (if i try to open anything the console will kp). I think sleirsgoevy once said 7.02 exploit is less stable on phat, so for anyone using phat I'd say stay on 6.72. As for exploit host I think it doesn't matter since they all use the same web exploit.
     
  19. viggen66

    viggen66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Spain
    Just a question does it have to be 7.02 firmware? I guess firmware 7.00 also works with 7. 02 exploits, I guess it can work better on 7.00 than 7.02, you can also change to 7. 02 later on
     
  20. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,894
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK, the problem is the webkit.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted