3DS update help

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Melter, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011

3DS update help by Melter at 7:17 PM (828 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Melter
    OP

    Member Melter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone please give me a step by step guide on how to update a brand new unused DStwo to work on the 3DS? I have a DSi to update it with.

    All the guides I found are very confusing they tell me to put some files on an SD card, which files?
     
  2. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    On the EOS download page, there is a link called "DSTWO firmware v1.9" if i believe right.
    Those are the files you should put in the root (X:\) of your MicroSD. Then you run your DSTWO on the DSi and once the DSTWO boots its plugin-menu, the system will update it.
     
  3. Melter
    OP

    Member Melter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    from what I understand I need that file AND something else
     
  4. ianrulz1

    Newcomer ianrulz1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need the newest eos AND the 1.9 firmware, then run it on a ds lite/dsi/dsxl to install it to work on a 3ds
     
  5. Melter
    OP

    Member Melter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Downloaded both: I have 3 items: _dstwo folder, ds2boot.dat, and dstwoupdate.dat. So I put all three items onto the root of my SD card, and run it on my DSi, correct?
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    yes, just load it up on your ds and it should ask to install an update at the plug-in menu, if it doesn't just rename "dstwoupdate.dat" to "ds2update.dat" and try it again
     

Share This Page